French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
this is the second time i've tried this recipe. both times the recipes were excellent. this time, however, i did tweek it a little. i added a few dashed of hot sauce, added 1/2 a slab of cream cheese(as others did), a bit more garlic, parsley and chives. we are going to a poker party/baseball playoff games (go cubs!!)at my brothers tonight and needed to bring something. this is be perfect. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was so yummy and a huge hit at our BBQ. I served it with potato chips and cut up veggies. I made it with cream cheese instead of mayo based on other reviews, and it ended up being really thick and hard to dip into, but it was really creamy. I think next time I'll do have mayo and half cream cheese. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I love this. My husband especially loved it! I changed up a few things, based on our tastes. First, I used chopped garlic with the onions. I added the chopped garlic when I had a minute or two left with cooking the onions. I used maybe a 1/2 T. I took the advice of others and used 1/2 c of sour cream and 1/2 a block of cream cheese, which made the dip really creamy. It turned out amazingly well. I agree with everyone else - this stuff is way better than what you can buy in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Mmmmmm! I used vidalia onions with the garlic and 1/2 block (softened) cream cheese and 1/2 C mayo with the 1C sour cream. The cream cheese gave it a great texture and rich flavor. So easy and so impressive. Everyone at 2 different functions raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Awesome recipe. Much better than store brands. I will never buy it store brands again after making this. Easy, delicious and I recently made this for a party and it was a favorite. My sister in law doesnt even like french onion dip but couldnt stop dipping. recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Was absolutely delicious. I minced about five cloves of garlic and sauted with the onions once the onions started to turn transparent instead of using garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I gave this 4* only because I modified the recipe a little. I added twice the amount of onion and some fresh chopped parsley for color. I thought chopped fresh thyme would be outstanding but I didn't have any at the time. I served this at a family BBQ and everyone said it was "highly addictive." I actually only got one chip w/ dip before the whole thing was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Really Good! I also added fresh garlic - what a wonderful flavor. Will keep thisone and use it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boyno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hemingford, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
We just didn't care for this, I'm not sure why. It's not the fault of the recipe, I guess it's just not our taste. Thanks for the chance to try something new though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I used cream cheese instead of mayo, was really good, this recipe is not for people who do not like onion very very very oniony. Also I added green onion for flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States