French Onion Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
I made a few changes... used 1 cup instant rice & no onions. I precooked the beef & topped with cheesy french fried onions. Baked it for 30 minutes. Even my pickest child ate it! This is a new favorite!! (served it with salad and bread). THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
This recipe was pretty tasty. I substituted 1 pkg. dry onion soup mix and 2 cups water for the can of french onion soup and omitted the celery (husband's request). It was perfectly done in 1 hour. I did brown the beef first and drain the fat. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aneta, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Grace City, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I'm always looking for ways to use ground beef and this is great. I did precook the meat but only partially in the microwave for about 4 minutes, then broke it up and drained it. I used ideas from other reviewers and added mushrooms, used instant rice, minced garlic. I didn't have the onion soup so used the mix and 2 cups of water. At the table we thought it a wee bit bland, so added some lite soy sauce and it was really good. I added some to the leftovers too and they were just as good. Will make this a keeper. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
I have a very similar recipe called Dirty Rice Casserole. It calls for the addition of 2 tsp. minced garlic and Tabasco sauce to taste. I don't brown the meat first, but do find that after about one hour in the oven it is necessary to stir the casserole to break up the ground meat and ensure even cooking. Bake for 1/2 hour more and you have a super-easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This was GREAT! I will admit we can't have any green pepper and we read the reviews and found that a lot of people were complaining that this came out dry. We added 1/2 cup of minced carrot and minced red onion and a can of half and half. We took the advice of one of the reviewers and broke up the ground beef in tiny little bits, in a huge mixing bowl. Then we added salt and fresh ground pepper to taste and some dehydrated green onion, which has a sharper flavor than fresh. Added the rice, and mixed it in well. Then the vegetables. Tasted it again. In a separate bowl we mixed the soups and half and half. Tasted again and added some nutmeg and beef base. We poured the liquid mix into a glass casserole dish and then added the ground beef/rice mixture, covered it and popped it into the oven and checked it's progress at 1 hour and it was a bit soupy. We left it in for an additional 15 minutes and it came out moist and flavorful. We topped it with Kerrygold Dubliner cheese and ate it with Bread Machine Challah I. The recipe can be found on this website. Ultimate Ease, Ultimate Yum, Easy Clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
This is one of those recipes where you can add/omit/change ingredients and it still comes out good! I've made it according to the recipes but tonight I added mushrooms, ground sausage, and shredded cheese and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
Great dish! My family asks for this all the time. I do not cook the meat first but crumble into baking dish and pour the mixture over the top. In the last 5 minutes of baking I cover with shredded colby and monterey jack cheese. I also use instant rice and it comes out perfectly every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I used leftover brisket(roast beef would work) instead of hambuger. I also used brown rice instead of white. It was GREAT!! I also used the review that had used dry soup mix and add cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaMaw's Girls

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
This was really good. I almost goofed up and put more liquid in because of all the reviews that siad it was dry- almost, but I decided to make it just like the recipe said the first time. THANK GOODNESS, i did. IT was NOT dry. It was PERFECT, moist. I pre-cooked and drained my ground beef. I used minute rice. I used the exact ingrdients in the recipe- it was moist AND tasty. I can not figure out how someone could have made this and thought it was dry and/or bland. It was popping with flavor. I think that the bowl you use is probably important. A 2 quart casserole dish is small, and that is what I used, a round, clear glass one. So that in the center of my casserole the mixture was about three inches high. That could be why mine was moist and delicious. If you use a bigger panm (ex.9 x 13) you would spread it out very thin and it would probably get dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2003
My husband loves this! He says it's like a low fat meat loaf. It's good with a little bit of bar-b-que sause on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States