French Onion Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
love this recipe.. just wondering.. how can I add more fiber? any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LettersToElijah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Very simple and filling. I browned and seasoned the meat before assembling,added a can of mushrooms as had been suggested. I did add shredded Monterey Jack after 40 minutes of cooking. We liked it. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I'm sorry, my husband and I didn't care for this as written. Melting some shredded mozarella on top helped a bit, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Meh, we didn't think much of this. One hour in the oven was way too long - the veggies had cooked down to nothing. There was pretty much no flavor, certainly nothing at all like French Onion. Perhaps some dry French Onion soup mix might help? Anyway, I won't be making this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
This is one of those recipes where you can add/omit/change ingredients and it still comes out good! I've made it according to the recipes but tonight I added mushrooms, ground sausage, and shredded cheese and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I'm always looking for ways to use ground beef and this is great. I did precook the meat but only partially in the microwave for about 4 minutes, then broke it up and drained it. I used ideas from other reviewers and added mushrooms, used instant rice, minced garlic. I didn't have the onion soup so used the mix and 2 cups of water. At the table we thought it a wee bit bland, so added some lite soy sauce and it was really good. I added some to the leftovers too and they were just as good. Will make this a keeper. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I made this using 3/4 ground beef and 1/4 bulk Italian sausage. Browned the meat along with chopped onions, chopped green onions, chopped celery, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper. I didn't have French onion soup, so used 1 envelope Beefy onion soup mix with 1 1/2 soup cans of water. Do not add any more salt if using soup mix! Used instant rice and mixed all together. At the last 10 min. of baking, I sprinkled a mixture of shredded Italian and motzarella cheeses on top, covered and finished baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Easy, inexpensive, and tastes great! Followed the suggestion to use 1 pkg Lipton Onion Soup plus 2 c water since I didn't have French onion soup. Browned meat first, covered baking dish, stirred after 30 minutes, after 20 more minutes it was done. Melted cheddar on top. Yummy! Next time will add more bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
My wife and I really enjoyed this. I added a bit of cheddar w/ 15 minutes to go, browned the beef with a clove of diced garlic and drained it ahead of time. A bit of BBQ sauce on top was a great addition. Definitely lots of sodium; not sure if there's any way around that though. Great hearty family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
This was really good. I almost goofed up and put more liquid in because of all the reviews that siad it was dry- almost, but I decided to make it just like the recipe said the first time. THANK GOODNESS, i did. IT was NOT dry. It was PERFECT, moist. I pre-cooked and drained my ground beef. I used minute rice. I used the exact ingrdients in the recipe- it was moist AND tasty. I can not figure out how someone could have made this and thought it was dry and/or bland. It was popping with flavor. I think that the bowl you use is probably important. A 2 quart casserole dish is small, and that is what I used, a round, clear glass one. So that in the center of my casserole the mixture was about three inches high. That could be why mine was moist and delicious. If you use a bigger panm (ex.9 x 13) you would spread it out very thin and it would probably get dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States