French Onion Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Very good. I used minute rice and dry onion soup mix with two cans of water as that is what I had on hand. I sprinkled a little mozzarella on top but I think Swiss cheese would be amazing. My family has asked for it to be added to the rotation. This is a bonus because it is so simple, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I goofed and bought cream of celery instead of mushroom and only had yellow onion and none of the other veggies. I cooked the beef and veggies and since I was using regular rice not instant I used about a cup of water as well. Cooked it an hour and it was perfect. Hubby liked it, said it tasted kinda like a stew I thought it was good, my 10&6 year old ate it but didn't comment so they didn't really like it :) will make again, cheap and easy!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lin-DUH
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I added cheese and am glad I did...it would have been way too bland without it. We didn't love it, but we ate it. I wouldn't make it again, though. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was ok, it needs more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Super good and really easy! I browned the meat beforehand because the ground beef I had was not lean, and while I did that I simmered the vegetables and rice (I used brown) in the french onion soup with about 1/4 c of water added, probably about 10-15 mins. Then I baked it for about 25 minutes and it was perfect. This way it was slightly faster. My husband tried it first and when I asked how it was he said "it's terrible, don't eat any" as he stuffed his face :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
My family has been making this for 50 years. We never brown the meat first. For the last 30 minutes I spread shredded cheese across the top and sometimes the crunchy French onions. Leftovers are quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueLake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I prepared this exactly as the directions stated. After 1 hour I took it our and uncovered it, and it was not even close to done. It was still pretty pink on top, completely pink in the middle. I took the advice from one of the other reviews, stirred it up and cooked it for 30 more minutes. At this point it just looked like grey Play-Doh, same consistency, and the rice had turned to mush. I couldn't cook it any longer because it was starting to burn to the bottom and sides of the casserole dish. It was unedible. Maybe next time I'll do like others say and brown the meat first, then combine the ingredients and cook for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used brown rice and microwaved it in the French onion soup for 5 minutes. I also browned the beef then combined everything together. I was concerned the rice wouldnt cook through otherwise. Overall very tasty and will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Pretty good overall! I browned the ground beef 1st before following the remaining portions of the recipe as is. There was too much celery for my husband's taste and I will try it next time in a small dish instead of a 9 X 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I first made this over a year ago, and it was good. We enjoyed it. I made it again last night as written (9-27-11) and I didnt have any problem with it getting done, or the rice getting done, or moistness. What I did have a problem with, it hit me why I probably didnt have those problems. Because of the grease from the hamburger. I decided then that I shouldnt make this again, unless I cook the hamburger first maybe. The soups, well you could use a low fat version and that would help with fat content. It did still remind me of a stuffed pepper which I havent had in ages and the flavors were fine but you could also easily add whatever you wanted. Maybe if I used turkey burger, I would feel much better about that I think. I do appreciate your sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States