French Onion Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
This was really good. I almost goofed up and put more liquid in because of all the reviews that siad it was dry- almost, but I decided to make it just like the recipe said the first time. THANK GOODNESS, i did. IT was NOT dry. It was PERFECT, moist. I pre-cooked and drained my ground beef. I used minute rice. I used the exact ingrdients in the recipe- it was moist AND tasty. I can not figure out how someone could have made this and thought it was dry and/or bland. It was popping with flavor. I think that the bowl you use is probably important. A 2 quart casserole dish is small, and that is what I used, a round, clear glass one. So that in the center of my casserole the mixture was about three inches high. That could be why mine was moist and delicious. If you use a bigger panm (ex.9 x 13) you would spread it out very thin and it would probably get dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
I have a very similar recipe called Dirty Rice Casserole. It calls for the addition of 2 tsp. minced garlic and Tabasco sauce to taste. I don't brown the meat first, but do find that after about one hour in the oven it is necessary to stir the casserole to break up the ground meat and ensure even cooking. Bake for 1/2 hour more and you have a super-easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This was GREAT! I will admit we can't have any green pepper and we read the reviews and found that a lot of people were complaining that this came out dry. We added 1/2 cup of minced carrot and minced red onion and a can of half and half. We took the advice of one of the reviewers and broke up the ground beef in tiny little bits, in a huge mixing bowl. Then we added salt and fresh ground pepper to taste and some dehydrated green onion, which has a sharper flavor than fresh. Added the rice, and mixed it in well. Then the vegetables. Tasted it again. In a separate bowl we mixed the soups and half and half. Tasted again and added some nutmeg and beef base. We poured the liquid mix into a glass casserole dish and then added the ground beef/rice mixture, covered it and popped it into the oven and checked it's progress at 1 hour and it was a bit soupy. We left it in for an additional 15 minutes and it came out moist and flavorful. We topped it with Kerrygold Dubliner cheese and ate it with Bread Machine Challah I. The recipe can be found on this website. Ultimate Ease, Ultimate Yum, Easy Clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
This recipe was pretty tasty. I substituted 1 pkg. dry onion soup mix and 2 cups water for the can of french onion soup and omitted the celery (husband's request). It was perfectly done in 1 hour. I did brown the beef first and drain the fat. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aneta, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Grace City, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
When I made this I browned the beef on top of the stove first, but I still cooked it for the same amount of time. It was great and it was also VERY left-over friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
I made a few changes... used 1 cup instant rice & no onions. I precooked the beef & topped with cheesy french fried onions. Baked it for 30 minutes. Even my pickest child ate it! This is a new favorite!! (served it with salad and bread). THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I used minute rice, as suggested by another rater, and also sauted my veggies with the ground beef, then drained the grease. I sprinkled a little cheese on top and baked for 30 minutes. It was fast, easy and my family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
My family has been making this for 50 years. We never brown the meat first. For the last 30 minutes I spread shredded cheese across the top and sometimes the crunchy French onions. Leftovers are quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueLake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Although this smelled wonderful while it was baking, we found it very bland and dry, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
My husband and I thought this was a delicious and filling dish. We cooked the ground beef before assembling the casserole and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NV4X4GAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States