French Onion Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
My wife and I really enjoyed this. I added a bit of cheddar w/ 15 minutes to go, browned the beef with a clove of diced garlic and drained it ahead of time. A bit of BBQ sauce on top was a great addition. Definitely lots of sodium; not sure if there's any way around that though. Great hearty family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
This was really good. I almost goofed up and put more liquid in because of all the reviews that siad it was dry- almost, but I decided to make it just like the recipe said the first time. THANK GOODNESS, i did. IT was NOT dry. It was PERFECT, moist. I pre-cooked and drained my ground beef. I used minute rice. I used the exact ingrdients in the recipe- it was moist AND tasty. I can not figure out how someone could have made this and thought it was dry and/or bland. It was popping with flavor. I think that the bowl you use is probably important. A 2 quart casserole dish is small, and that is what I used, a round, clear glass one. So that in the center of my casserole the mixture was about three inches high. That could be why mine was moist and delicious. If you use a bigger panm (ex.9 x 13) you would spread it out very thin and it would probably get dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I tried this, with several of the modications recommended, and it still seemed to be lacking something. My 1 1/2 year old enjoyed it, but we struggled to eat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
Enjoyed by all. I would definitely use less mince, more onion,green pepper and celery. I think that adding grated carrot would be a good idea. I used cream of chicken soup (as we don't like mushroom)This worked well. I also sprinkled cheese over the casserole. (Half way through the cooking time) I will definitely make this casserole again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This is a favorite at my house. The only changes is that I topped it with chedder cheese, and mixed in some shredded chedder into the mixture to add a little flavor along with some canned mushrooms. My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
This recipe was pretty tasty. I substituted 1 pkg. dry onion soup mix and 2 cups water for the can of french onion soup and omitted the celery (husband's request). It was perfectly done in 1 hour. I did brown the beef first and drain the fat. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aneta, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Grace City, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2003
My husband loves this! He says it's like a low fat meat loaf. It's good with a little bit of bar-b-que sause on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This was GREAT! I will admit we can't have any green pepper and we read the reviews and found that a lot of people were complaining that this came out dry. We added 1/2 cup of minced carrot and minced red onion and a can of half and half. We took the advice of one of the reviewers and broke up the ground beef in tiny little bits, in a huge mixing bowl. Then we added salt and fresh ground pepper to taste and some dehydrated green onion, which has a sharper flavor than fresh. Added the rice, and mixed it in well. Then the vegetables. Tasted it again. In a separate bowl we mixed the soups and half and half. Tasted again and added some nutmeg and beef base. We poured the liquid mix into a glass casserole dish and then added the ground beef/rice mixture, covered it and popped it into the oven and checked it's progress at 1 hour and it was a bit soupy. We left it in for an additional 15 minutes and it came out moist and flavorful. We topped it with Kerrygold Dubliner cheese and ate it with Bread Machine Challah I. The recipe can be found on this website. Ultimate Ease, Ultimate Yum, Easy Clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
I made a few changes... used 1 cup instant rice & no onions. I precooked the beef & topped with cheesy french fried onions. Baked it for 30 minutes. Even my pickest child ate it! This is a new favorite!! (served it with salad and bread). THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I added minced garlic and some pepper. I used the amount of soup that the recipe required and all the other ingredients but I only had 2/3 of the rice on hand. The casserole was very dry and still did not have that much flavor. I think I would try it again but double the soup to give it more of a sauce. Also, it said to cook for 1 hour, it took 1hr and 45 min to cook the rice through. I would definitley use minute rice next time. I also precooked the beef, I didn't want all that fat in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Marsh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States