French Onion Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was great! My family loved it! I left out the veggies only because I didn't have any on hand. Cook this just as the recipe says and it will come out great. After I made this I realized that this is the same dish my mom has cooked for years. Only in my family we call this dish "dirty rice".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
The recipe was tasty...I thought the green onion and french onion soup was a little redundant, so I don't know that I would add the onion again. I pre-cooked the rice and the ground beef and then just warmed the casserole in the oven to save time. My 3 year old liked it, husband isn't the biggest fan of rice, but he ate it and said the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilydonovan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Hubby loved it, I thought it was just OK, will make again, maybe add some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: South Haven, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I used minute rice, as suggested by another rater, and also sauted my veggies with the ground beef, then drained the grease. I sprinkled a little cheese on top and baked for 30 minutes. It was fast, easy and my family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I was very disappointed in this dish. My rice was not cooked at all! I followed the directions to the letter. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Koester
Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Although this smelled wonderful while it was baking, we found it very bland and dry, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I used leftover brisket(roast beef would work) instead of hambuger. I also used brown rice instead of white. It was GREAT!! I also used the review that had used dry soup mix and add cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Yarbrough

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I couldn't believe that the husband and the boy didn't like this. Me & the girl liked it a lot. A few changes: We don't eat rice, so I used "No Yoke" noodles (cooked). Used a package of Dry Onion soup with 2 cups water (instead of canned French Onion). Browned the beef with the white onions (fresh out of green), peppers, celery. Also, to the beef: garlic powder, a splash of light soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce, plus a generous pour of A-1. In a 9X13 pan, halfway through cooking, I topped with a 2 cup bag of Mozzarella cheese and Original French Fried Onions. Everything else was the same... If it were up to me, this would be put into rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Super Quick and Super Easy. This went over well, we had no leftovers. In variation, we used our own ground deer meat mixed with ground beef. It was a perfect new way to eat venison (deer meat). We will make this again. I thought about using wild rice next time or variate with cream of celery instead of cream of mushroom. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudine "Chancy" H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Cat Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I cooked the meat first (I used 93% lean but I didn't want even a little fat) & because I was making this for lunch for the grands, I used egg noodles (I boiled them first until halfway done) instead of rice, to make it easier for my 10 mo. old grandson to eat. I added 3 cloves of minced garlic, a "glub" of sherry (wsa probably less than 1/4 cup), used red bell pepper instead of green & used Healthy Request cream of mushroom soup. Like SPEECHTEACHER, I did cook this in a deep 2 qt casserole dish & I had no problems w/ it being too dry. My infant grandson liked it but the rest of them just ate it so they could have some pudding. ;o) Thanks for the recipe but I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States