French Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
My family loved this recipe. Thank you so much! the only thing I didn't use was the oil. Was amazing hot out of the oven and cold leftovers. Yummy. A keeper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sumner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Great recipe, followed the original the first time & found the allspice to be a little strong. Tried the 1tsp of allspice & poultry seasoning like some people recomended second time & it was much better. A really authentic French Canadian taste to this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shane6884
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was ok but very bland. I added celery to the onions and more seasonings and it was still bland. We ended up eating it with ketchup which made it better. It wasn't horrible but I probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Was good could use less or no allspice and I think adding garlic would make it better. but all in all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christy.derbidge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: American Fork, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I made this as mini pies in Ramekins. It was delicious! After reading every review, I added a clove of garlic in with the onions when I sauteed them. I also used 1 and 1/2 tsp. allspice and 1/2 tsp. poultry seasoning. I thought that along with the salt and pepper was the perfect amount of flavor. My family and our dinner guests all raved. They asked for the recipe. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
DELISH! We had gone to the La Sallette this christmas in MA to see the lights and they had these French Meat Pies that where awesome, so i looked and got this recipe, and it is super and an all time fave...Last time around I used Red Bliss garlic mashed potatoes to mix in and it was GREAT...I use ground italian Sausage (mild or hot depending on mood) vs the port and it is raved by my crew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Humarock, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I just love this pie. My Mom and Memere use to make this every Christmas and New Years and I have continued the tradition and my family just loves it. Mom once told me I could skip anyone of the spices except allspice. So the only difference is I cut back on the allspice to 1 tsp. and add 1 tsp of cloves. I also add 1 garlic clove. My family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This is the recipe an old boyfriends mother taught me to make. I make it evey year only I use lots of the allspice, We like the strong taste of it. My now husband is disgusted that there is potatoes in it, I tell him next year it's his turn to make the meat pie. Somehow we still have this one evey year ; ) Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Smalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I make about 21-24 pies for my family using my Mom's recipes which is very close. I use allspice, cinnamon, nutmeg and clove and I don't use an egg, jut a small amount of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was an outstanding dish. Spiced well and very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States