French Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
made them with the dark chocolate ganache, as recommended by another reviewer, wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
These are the best! Taste like the french original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I have made macarons twice before and was fairly successful. With this recipe, however, my macarons stuck to the parchment paper and that has never happened to me before. I liked that the macarons aren't as sweet as the ones I've made before and seem lighter. That's why I would like to try this recipe again and see if maybe I should have baked a little longer... I'm not sure what the cause of my problem was but these cookies are difficult to master so I will troubleshoot until I get them right. I have previously used buttercream as a filling and it is great (strawberry or lemon/lime) but I went with dark chocolate ganache this time and it is decadent! Update: Made again and decided to bake at 350 degrees for 6 minutes, then switch cookie sheets (I moved the one that was on the upper rack to the bottom rack and viceversa) and bake for 6 more minutes. They didn't stick to the parchment paper this time. I added a few drops of creme de menthe oil to half of the batter and colored it green. Again, I used chocolate ganache to stuff them with. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Amazing. I have searched the web top to bottom to find the simplest and most fool-proof recipe for these. I started with this one, and couldn't be more thrilled that I did. I followed recipe exactly as recommended. I used parchment paper, as they stuck to my silpat. A couple comments: I made two batches: Batch #1, I didn't beat the egg whites and castor sugar as long and baked exactly as recommended. They turned out vibrant in color, and not overcooked, a bit chewy and got rave reviews. Batch #2, I beat the egg white and castor sugar a bit longer (it was a bit more stiff) and then baked on convection. These were very crisp, not as vibrant in color, but still maintained a great flavor. The texture was extremely different. These also got good reviews, but cracked more and weren't as pretty as my first batch. They also weren't as easy to fill with the buttercream b/c they were more delicate. They did, however, fall right off the parchment paper with no issues! I made yellow lemon with a raspberry buttercream, green mint with a dark chocolate buttercream and purple almond/vanilla with rasp on some and chocolate on others. Went off beautifully for dinner party. MMMMMMMMmmmm…:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
They turned out easier to make than I expected! The hardest part was to make them perfectly circular! I got around that using the cupcake baking sheet. Just make sure to use the paper cups and remove them when still a bit warm, CAREFULLY!! And voila! You have perfectly round shaped macaroons without any effort! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
No, I didn't make these but I did read the previous review and she had problems getting the macaroons off the paper. I pipe almond macaroons onto parchment paper and to remove them, I turn the paper over and wet the bottom with just enough water to soak through and loosen the macaroons. A second or two will do it and you can peel them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
this was by far the best macaroon recipe i have ever tried!!!! the other recipes i have tried always crack! but not with this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Just wanted to bake something and found this recipe. Didn't have parchment paper so I sprayed pans with Bakers Joy baking spray with flour. Cookies didn't stick at all! Will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
It turned out very nicely from the first try. An awesome recipe! Love it! Thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My daughter is in a high school French class and signed up to make these for Culture Day. I was nervous because I have never made these before, BUT we followed the recipe exactly and they turned out amazing!!! We divided up the batter into thirds and colored them (pink, yellow, orange) and we used canned cream cheese frosting and colored 3 bowls the same as the macarons plus we flavored each bowl of frosting. I used parchment paper and they slid right off without any problems. I'm so thrilled these turned out so well, plus everyone loved them so much that I had to hide some for her to take the next day to school! Thank you for a simple, delicious recipe....will definitely be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States