French Leek Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
It got quite brown on top after 20 mins, and it seemed set, so took it out. The insides was quite too runny, but tasty. Not sure how others bake it to make it firm without burning. It seemed like way too much cream and eating it felt quite heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
It did not set-up. The soupy mess was delicious, but I think next time I will add an egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Excllent easy recipe! Great way to cook leeks and perfect for a weeknight dinner with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEEVA1
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Very tasty recipe. I would give it 5 stars for taste but as other reviewers mentioned, my pie never set up when even slightly warm. I believe that that can be easily fixed with a tablespoon of butter or a small quantity of a blonde roux added. I also used the entire leek even most of the green I just started sauteing them a bit earlier than I did the whites which caused them to lend the pie a full rich flavor. I will DEFINITELY make this again with just that small change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEVA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I used my whole-wheat olive oil crust, which always turns out crisp. Then I put the cooked leeks (+Garlic) directly into the bottom of the pie plate, and poured over it a mixture of the cream, whisked with 2eggs, and 2 tbsp white flour, with the cheese and some herbs stirred in. I was concerned that the ingredients would not "set", even before I read the reviews. Next time I will add more leeks, and perhaps tofu instead of the eggs. My oven is quite hot, so I reduced the heat near the end of the cooking time as the crust was getting a little dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauriePat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I did this with Emmental cheese and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmiau

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Rich and wonderful! Makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I must have put too much cream because it was runny. I baked it way longer than the suggested time and it was still runny inside. The taste was good. A great way to use leftover leeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Awesome! Used 5 leeks and pretty much doubled the rest of the ingredients as suggested by others. I had heavy cream instead of light, added some sliced fresh mushrooms and a little bit of bacon, also a handful of fresh parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cclampkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Delicious! Easy to make and my family requested that we make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States