French Leek and Ham Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
As I can't eat ham (for religious reasons) I used a mixture of beef mince and hot dog instead, and the results were superb. The only other tweak I did was adding a table spoon of tomato paste to the meats / leak mixtures. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarek Essam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This is fantastic. I made it exactly as directed and it turned out great. When I went to visit my parents, I made it for my extremely picky father. My mother said, "don't let it hurt your feelings if he won't eat it. You know how picky he is." He ate it everyday for three days until it was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was so good we reserved enough ham from Christmas to make it twice. Reheated, it held it's own and was a real time-saver in a period where busy is the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stella
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
We all loved this recipe. I had a little less than the required amount of leeks so I added some asparagus I had in the fridge. I also took the advise of a few reviewers and made extra potatoes. I crumbled some rice cereal on top making a nice crispy layer. At the end I had enough to make two caseroles. I plan to freeze one; we'll see how it turns out when it is time to re-heat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
It is somewhat lacking in flavor, but definitely a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
My family was pleasantly surprised how much they liked it. I was looking on how to use up my pork roast and subbed it in for the ham. I did not have any leek on hand. The rest of the recipe I followed and it was a perfect quick hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I made this recipe. I used 1 1/2 pound of a ground veal/pork/beef meat blend and 1/2 ground sweet sausage instead of the ham. It was terrific! everyone who tried it loved it. My 88 year old father-in-law loved it along with my 2 brother-in-laws and my wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikesz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Truly delicious twist on the traditional shepherd's pie - I preferred this version for sure. The leeks and ham ratchet up the flavor from "family meal" to "mmmmm......"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I followed the recipe as is and we both decided that we would make it again. The top puffed up a little and was the best part! I also loved the nutmeg in the mashed potatoes and will add it everytime I make them now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
It's a hearty dish, but VERY bland -- despite adding garlic and sauteeing the leeks & onions in white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States