French Leek and Ham Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was so good we reserved enough ham from Christmas to make it twice. Reheated, it held it's own and was a real time-saver in a period where busy is the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davidwp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stella
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
We all loved this recipe. I had a little less than the required amount of leeks so I added some asparagus I had in the fridge. I also took the advise of a few reviewers and made extra potatoes. I crumbled some rice cereal on top making a nice crispy layer. At the end I had enough to make two caseroles. I plan to freeze one; we'll see how it turns out when it is time to re-heat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
It is somewhat lacking in flavor, but definitely a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
My family was pleasantly surprised how much they liked it. I was looking on how to use up my pork roast and subbed it in for the ham. I did not have any leek on hand. The rest of the recipe I followed and it was a perfect quick hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I made this recipe. I used 1 1/2 pound of a ground veal/pork/beef meat blend and 1/2 ground sweet sausage instead of the ham. It was terrific! everyone who tried it loved it. My 88 year old father-in-law loved it along with my 2 brother-in-laws and my wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikesz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Truly delicious twist on the traditional shepherd's pie - I preferred this version for sure. The leeks and ham ratchet up the flavor from "family meal" to "mmmmm......"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I followed the recipe as is and we both decided that we would make it again. The top puffed up a little and was the best part! I also loved the nutmeg in the mashed potatoes and will add it everytime I make them now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
It's a hearty dish, but VERY bland -- despite adding garlic and sauteeing the leeks & onions in white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
My husband loved this. He said to make it again, so I will. It was very hearty, yet not too heavy. I never cooked with leeks before, and it seemed like quite a bit of work with the sauteing of onions, prepping the tomatoes & making mashed potatoes, but it turned out fine. I poured the hot mashed potato water over the tomatoes in a small bowl to loosen the skin. I think I should have sliced the leeks a bit thinner, but I had no idea this first time and just guessed. I agree that there could be a tad more potatoes, and it seemed that the ham could be cut down a little bit, too. I adjusted the recipe to 4 servings, and with just the 2 of us, there is almost half of that left over, so the serving sizes are true. Overall, a nice change from ground beef casseroles. And as another reviewer said, a very nice meal for a winter Sunday. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Pretty good. Listen to the reviewers when they say make extra mash. If I try this again, I may just put the mash on the top and double the filling. I felt I was eating a plate full of mash potatoes instead of shepards pie. Flavor was great and it was my first time cooking with leeks. So if you're a leek virgin like me, then try this as a jumping off point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States