French Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
Thank you, Aronna! I now use this recipe all the time, sometimes with the herb filling, sometimes without. The tender, fine texture and crisp crust make this bread wonderful either way. I've also split the dough to make two baugettes. (To get the extra crisp, crunchy crust of baugettes, put a pan full of boiling water in the oven with the bread while baking.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
OH MY GOSH!!I will be taking this bread everywhere I go from now on!I will have so many friends!I added more if the filling,but I don't recomend doing this.It made the bread too hard to fully cook in the middle and even then it was a bit slimy inside.Next time I will leave well enough alone and make it the way the recipe says.Oh,I did sprinkle a little fresh parmasian over the topping before I rolled it up.This would have been good with the right amount of butter and onion.Make this bread!You'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This bread is a wonderful complement to any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
Awesome bread! This was my first attempt at yeast bread without a bread machine, and it turned out great - not as hard as I thought! (although it *did* take some time) Do let the filling cool before applying to the dough, as has already been suggested. Next time I think I'll add some cheese too. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
I loved this bread. The dough was a pleasure to work with even when mixing completely by hand. I did not have parsley for the filling, so I used oregano instead (I prefer this herb anyway). The bread had a wonderful texture and the crust was delicate and just a bit flaky. The taste was sensational, not over-powering but very flavorful. I ate a third of the loaf hot out of the oven and the rest was the next days breakfast and lunch. It was great cold and reheated nicely. I will be making this again for company and for myself. Aronna Palmer, you have found a truly beautiful recipe. Thank you for sharing it. Lómelindi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
I thought the onion flavor was too strong. My husband enjoyed it, but I would change the herbs around a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
The filling in this recipe was too strong. Half a cup of minced onion is way too much. The bread itself tasted okay, but turned out very, VERY dense - not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
This bread was fabulous! Worth the effort and time! Light, fluffy, and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
Maybe I did something wrong, but this bread did not seem to rise successfully and turned out very dense. However, the flavor was exceptional, and I may attempt to make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
this bread was good and easy to make, but the onion mixture was a little salty. I will be making this again with sell salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States