French Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was really good and pretty easy as far as bread making goes. I made a couple changes, because I like a wheat bread, so I subsituted 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour for all purpose, and I added a couple tablespoons of ground flax seed meal to the dough (added at the beginning with the yeast and sugar, etc). I sprinkled a little more flax seed on the top instead of the parsley, but I did it before I baked the bread. I also didn't melt the butter; I used a couple tablespoons of room temperature butter that I spread on it and then sprinkled the herb mixture on top of that. But all in all, it was a really good bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettycr0ckerchels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA
Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Five star! I've made this bread three times in the last month, and it's been a consistent hit. Someone asked me to give them the name of the bakery! I leave out the onions and instead spread the dough with olive oil, herbs, garlic, and a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
The taste of this bread was superb. However, the center did not bake up enough. It was a little doughy in the middle. If I would have baked it longer, the outside would have been burnt. Not sure what I could have done wrong to cause that-I double checked and followed all the directions and baking time. :( Oh, I take that back-I did swap out dried basil for the parsley. (no impact though of course)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dalton, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Not too sure on this one. Whereas everyone else was raving about it I thought we'd like it. Just found the herb flavor a bit too strong and it over powered the bread taste. Don't think I'll be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carnygirl
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This bread was awesome made it with Italian seasoning instead of parsley turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sherrard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I have made these numerous times... the loaves come out pretty huge so I usually separate it into 4 loaves instead. I bake them all but we only eat one and I freeze the rest... then when I want to use one for dinner I take it out and let it thaw a bit then I wrap it in tinfoil and bake it in the oven for 15 min. like you would the store-bought garlic bread. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Tasty; I used the chopped onions and thyme rather than parsley, and liked the texture of the onions. I did not like the softened crust from brushing with butter after baking, will skip that step next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I think I'll just have the bread next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I make this recipe all the time and I love it! You can really play with different kind of herbs in order to make a bread that compliments your main dish. Something I like to do is this: Once the bread is rolled, I cut it up the way you would with cinammon rolls. Then, I make little rolls that each have a ribbon of herbs through them. Guests love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe - I have made it many times. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States