French Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
holy you are my hero! this bread is the best! ive baked it like 5 times and i love it more every time! thank you sooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Fabulous recipe!It came out perfect and the flavor was awesome my family loved it and this is surely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This is delicious. It baked up crunchy and with a nice crumb. Bf and I aren't huge fans of onion, but we really loved this bread. It's huge, though. I was expecting a loaf the size of a baguette and I get something twice as big . . .it rose out, not up, so it was kind of flat and funny looking. Absolutely delicious, though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This bread is awsome. I just suggest not rolling the bread to thin. Keeping it thick so it does not cook funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Overall, this bread was delicious and I think the dough is versatile enough to use for other stuffed bread recipes. It rose perfectly for all rises. I changed the filling to include herbes de provence (personal preference) along with the onion which I cooked until soft in olive oil. I subbed the butter for 1/4 cup olive oil in the dough and it worked just fine. Baked for 15 minutes right on the baking stone and another ten minutes on the rack. I will definitely make this again and will try it rolled with other fillings (ham, cheeses, sausage, veggies, etc.) Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I loved this bread, I doubled the recipe and got two GIGANTIC loaves. I added shredded cheese along with mixed dried herbs and garlic(didn't use onion as my kids would have chucked it out)and it came out wonderful. One thing that I need to work on is that all the filling oozed out and burned slightly on the bottom-I am making it again today, we'll see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fairmaiden

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Oddly enough, the bread really didn't rise for me after forming it into a loaf. It SPREAD, so I ended up with a flat, broad loaf that was very oniony. Don't know about this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is the best french bread recipe. I followed the exact directions except I used my bread machine to knead the ingredients for me. This is a keeper!!!! Thanks for submitting your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
THIS WAS THE BEST FRENCH BREAD I'VE EVER HAD!! If I could give this more stars, I would. I used real butter rather than margarine and added a little shredded cheese to the filling. I also added basil and garlic powder to the dough. My kids who don't like onions, couldn't get enough of this bread. I made two loaves and only have 1/2 a loaf left, and my husband hasn't eaten his dinner yet! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
SO BLAND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States