French Ham Cheese and Egg Fondue Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I downloaded this recipe with intentions of having it for Xmas breakfast ...oops, it didn't happen. But I had to use the ham I bought or chuck it; glad I used it!! Even my picky 12 year old daughter gobbled it up. You can use slightly less ham to make it less salty. You don't have to use the hot pepper sauce if you have kids eating. It's loaded with flavour +++ with no weird ingredients that might make kids turn their noses up. Oh, and you DON'T have to worry about letting it sit AT ALL ...that part of the recipe is only for Xmas Eve chefs who want an easy meal the next day. YUMMMMMMM ...this will be on the table next Xmas breakfast. SOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Wow, I cut come corners (did not do layers, added parm to top of casserole) and I am very impressed! I added cayenne to the flour mixture. Really fluffy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
There is no way to mess up this recipe. No matter what you do, it's still going to be yummy! I needed a recipe to use up 1/2 a loaf of white bread and some deli ham. I had 1/3 loaf of Velveeta, and a chunk of Mozarella, plus some grated Parmesan. I spayed a glass 13x19 with Pam, then put it in the oven with 1/4 cup of butter to melt before adding the rest of the ingredients (didn't add more butter). As someone else said, layers not really necessary. Let it sit 10 minutes after making before putting it into the oven @ 325* (with a glass pan, it will get too dark on the bottom if you set the oven to 350*). We had it for dinner with the Lemon Butter Broccoli from this site, and fresh sliced tomatoes. The cheese was yummy and the eggs made it custardy. Ummmmmm! The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I prepared this recipe for my large family at Easter brunch. I changed it just a little bit by adding pancetta in addtion to the ham. My picky brother who wont eat anything, eventually gave it a try, he then went back for seconds! Everyone loved it and it's simple to prepare. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This recipe went over well at a bridal shower brunch. I'm not usually sensitive to salt, but I found this to be a bit salty. I did not have enough cheddar this time, so I added in a little fontina to the cheddar mix...That was a great substitute since fontina melts so well. Next time, I will make sure to use low-sodium ham. I will also add a vegetable like spinach, onion, or mushrooms. It's a keeper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was a very good recipe, although it was a bit salty. I was worried about the large amount of ham called for, especially since I was feeding a group who is trying to watch their salt intake. I found a turkey ham product that had half the sodium but the dish was still salty, maybe because of the cheese. It was extremely tasty and lighter than expected. Would make again (will try a reduced-sodium cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this for Easter Brunch. Making this ahead of time makes it easy to spend time with the family and not in the kitchen. Even the "picky" eaters loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was excellent. I did make a few changes-added more eggs, and less milk. I combined 9 eggs, and 2 cups of milk. It served 6 adults. Made Hash Browns for a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I make this everytime company comes! It is also good with bacon or sausage! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is a good recipe. I substitute herb seasoned stuffing mix cubes for the French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States