French Fry Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Satueed the onions, green peppers and a small can of sliced of mushrooms for a few mintues before adding the ground beef and a couple of cloves of minced garlic and continuing to cook until no longer pink. Also, mixed in some frozen corn and the Cheese Whiz and then let it simmer for about 10 mins. Followed the rest of the recipe. I was a little disappointed that the shoestring fries didn't get crunchy. My kids loved it...8 yr. old son with small appetite cleaned his plate and announced that he loved it...so that makes it a keeper! For some reason this kind of reminded me of Hamburger Helper, but that's okay I rely on it sometimes. Next time I might try shredded cheddar cheese like some reviews suggested. I may also try a different type of potato. Thanks for a recipe that we all enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I am the poster of this recipe and I wanted to put the other version in that we also love. I use cream of chicken soup instead of mushroom, omit the green peppers and use an entire bag of shoestring french fries. I serve with a side salad and/or steamed veggies for a complete meal. I vary between these two versions to keep it fresh with my family, since it's a quick weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I changed a few things. Omitted the green pepper, added a cup of celery and one can of french style green beans, used shreaded hash browns instead of f-frys. I think corn would go well in here, i'll add that next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This has become my 15 yr old sons favorite with a few minor changes! He LOVES Mexican dishes of all sorts and loves to cook himself! So this was an easy one for him to do on his own! His changes: add 1/4 cup sour creame to meat mixture. also add 1 can of black olives (torn to bits) into the meat mixture with the creame of mushroom soup. Then mix with cheese cover with fries and add another cup of shedded chedder on top at the last 5 min for a lil extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixieland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sweetwater, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Overall, this recipe was very good. In fact it was better the next day as left- overs. I wasn't sure if the fries would be soggy the next day, and they were soft. But as it turned out, the softer texture was better and the flavors all melded together. I may try this next time with shredded potatoes (the hashed brown type in the refridgerated section).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I did change the recipe slightly because I didn't have cheese sauce or shoestring fry's on hand. I replaced fry's with sweet potato waffle fryes and added a can of carrots for color & an added veggie. Great starter recipe, my husband and 3 year old ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Followed recipe to a "T" the first time and didn't care for the flavor of the cheez whiz. Substituted shredded cheese the second time and it went over much better. Quick and easy recipe that fills the kids up and gets me out of the kitchen fast after a long day at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsM...!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
FANTASTIC CASSEROLE!!! MADE A COUPLE OF CHANGES TO SUIT FAMILIES TASTE. INSTEAD OF GREEN PEPPER I USED A CAN OF WHOLE KERNEL CORN. REPLACED THE CREAM OF MUSHROOM SOUP WITH CREAM OF CHICKEN, I FOLLOW THE REST AS POSTED. THE FLAVOR IS OUTSTANDING. MY SON WHO IS VERY PICKY AND DOESN'T EAT ALOT LOVED IT AND HAD SECONDS. HE HAS ALREADY ASK ME TO MAKE IT AGAIN. THANKS MICKE FOR THE RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEEZ49

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Added beans and onion. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEANNA83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Weeping Water, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
My family teases me when I try a new recipe because I always ask if its a keeper or not. Well this one is a keeper!! The only thing different I did was use 2 lbs of hamburger only because that is how our beef is packaged. Everything else I left the same. I always love finding good casseroles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States