French Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Very yummy! These fries crisped up wonderfully, and with some seasoned salt, they are fantastic! Thanks, Lorelei!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I made two kinds of fries tonight to go with our fish dinner. These by far are "THE BEST" fries - homemade or otherwise! My family loved them!! Crispy outside-soft inside! Whenever I'm in the mood for "fried" fries - this is the recipe I'll use! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
Wonderful potatoes! My husband loved these too! Super easy to make. I used nature's seasoning for the seasoning and it was very good. 6 cups wasn't enough to cover the fries in my deep frier, so make sure you check to make sure they are covered before you start your timer. Thanks so much Lorelei!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESIGNSBYBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
Okay gang for those who think it's odd to soak them in warm water...well the warm water is merely to dissolve the sugar. After the sugar is dissolved I add some ice and then do the soaking. These fries are the best. I have baked these (spraying with pam & seasoning w/ garlic salt) as well as fried them and they are always a hit. Thanks Lorelei!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
I only soaked them for 13.5 minutes, but they didn't get very crisp. Soggy, rather. I tried cooking them longer than recommended, probably 10 minutes, but they were still soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I'm giving these a 2, not because they taste bad, but because I really didn't see how soaking the potatoes in sugar water really helped. They tasted fine, but I really have had better results just soaking my potatoes in cold water(no sugar) then frying. Mine didn't get crispy like other reviewers stated theirs did. I won't use up the unneccessary sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
My whole family really liked these fries. HOWEVER, for me they took forever and a day to cook. Fortunately I had horribly misjudged the time the entree was going to be done, so I was able to leave these in longer. Maybe 3x longer. BUT it could be that I had my potatoes cut much larger than the person who submitted this recipe did. So basically, the larger the cut, the longer the cooking time. The only ones that got crunchy were the little pieces, but that was ok. They really tasted like steakhouse fries. They were very good. My daughter (6 yr) has requested that I make these everynight. Ya right, like that's gonna happen. = )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
These were ok. Like another user stated, they took FOREVER to cook. Most of mine did not get crunchy either. I will probably just soak them in plain water next time. ***Update 8/16/2011 - made them again, I don't know what I did differently this time but they turned out wonderful. (I think I let them soak for a half an hour - maybe that was it? ) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
Not too bad for my first attempt at home-made fries. I'm not sure if it was the recipe or if it was me, but something needs a little work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This is a fine recipe with one exception. The trick to french fries that are crispy on the outside and tender on the inside is to first soak then in cold water. Dry thouroughly. Fry TWICE...first a short fry (like blanching vegetables, but in oil), drain and then fry a second time until golden and crispy. This should give the desired results. My friends know I can't eat a soggy fry... and I love fries ;-) ) Happy frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
575 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Bachmann Chaney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States