French Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These were good! I'm used to getting crunchy fries only from blanching and frying twice. They are delicious but they usually require more time than I am willing to dedicate to french fries. These were great--soak in the sugar water and drain and then fry...they get crispy quick and are ready by the time the burgers are done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Eden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This technique is truly amazing! I'm going to try it with hash browns and baked potato wedges!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Way soggy. Needs to be fried at least twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cadee'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Great recipe. I was skeptical at first but greatly surprised when they turned out perfect. Even my kids loved them and they are teenagers who are very picky about their french fries. I tossed the fries with seasoning salt and pepper before frying. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
As a true french fry artist knows, to get them crispy, you need to cook them half way, take them out and let cool down, then plunge them in the rest of the way. Older potatoes work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Pretty good fries but be sure to cut the potatoes the correct size as the larger ones would not crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
These are sooo yummy!!! My husband is a french fry fanatic and he said these were probably the best he's ever tasted! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
So Easy and Delicious! One potato made a bunch for just me...my hubby wanted baked beans! Used my thin slicer on my food processor..a breeze! Thanks for the recipe..reminds me of my grandmother's homemade French fries when I was small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosebud434

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Really tasted good mine were crispy when I pulled them out of oil but soggy when sat down to eat them. Not sure why. Any suggestions. Email me and let me know. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuttle1970
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Tried it not as good as Mom's Everyone has there tricks to crisp french fries. My mother tough me to boil them to just before they are tinder and dry them then fry them till golden to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Branch, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States