French Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
My family loved these. Surprised that there is no sugary taste. Crisp on the outside. This is how french fries are done. Thanks Lorelei
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grady Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Alta Loma, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Baked the fries at 350 for about 45 mins. sprayed with pam and sprinkled with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Yummy! Easy to make and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Turned out lovely, I fried twice as others have stated (Alton Brown style).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I have tried the sugar water method before, did not notice any difference than just using cold water. I am a fan of Good Eats, and agree with Alton Brown's method of twice frying. I also use his method of starch conversion for hashbrowns. Placing them in a cold environment (in the fridge) over night. I still soak my fries, but i use salt water , then rinse, and a finally use a salad spinner to help dry them. I then use my fryer at 320F and fry for 5 minutes, drain on paper towels, and cool until close to room temperature. Then i fry again at 350F until golden and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
OMG!! This are sooooo amazing!!!! And soooooo addictive i just finshed making them and already half gone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pvlcooking99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Very good but take a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Very pleased with this recipe. Simple and delicious. Imparts a slightly sweet taste to fries. Will definitely make again. I made a larger batch and used less oil by frying in deep non-stick skillet rather than deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Narnia_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
The sugar water makes this recipe complete. Thanks for the tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by LauraChristine
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Awesome! The key is the cold water and sugar, and the double frying like other reviewers suggested! I love making these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraChristine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States