French Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Delicious. I had to make fries for more than 2 people so I doubled everything. Water sugar and potatoes. I soaked the potatoes for about 2 hours and then drained them and dried them a bit with a towel. I went with the hint of blanching them for a few minutes and then pulled them out of the oil. Once all the batches were done I could quickly get them crispy and brown. This took about 3 to 5 minutes per batch for the amount I Deep fried. They were so good my husband said that if there had been a five gallon pail full he would have still ate everything there. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I agree With another poster that the warm water is used to dissolve the sugar. I did this with one cup of warm water and then added the rest of the water as cold. I also put a layer of ice cubes over the potatoes as they were soaking. Then when it was time to take them out they were nice and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
These fries rock!! I had planned on making them last night, but after peeling, cutting and soaking in the sugar bath-our dining plans changed. So.... they held in the sugar bath in the fridge till tonight. Patted them dry, fried them up, salted them and polished them all off! I even greatly increased the amounts of potatoes but my family of 5 did not even leave a spud rubble! I am a believer in the sugar bath now! Thanks for a great recipe! (Oh, and I cut them quite thick-they were better than the county fair fries!) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
1st time making homemade french fries and they turned out great! Love the recipe, thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmmoureau24
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Nice and Crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I've been using Lorelei's recipe for awhile now and love it. So does my family and friends. No changes other than doubling it. The sugar makes it as far as I'm concerned. Thank you Lorelei.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herbies Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
best french fries I've had great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
My husband loved them...he said they remind him on In and Out Burger French Fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
The sugar makes the difference, but if you really want to make the best fries, fry them in beef tallow. That's what made MacDonald's fries taste so special before they caved in to extremists in 1990. Lard is almost as good and readily available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tivadoc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Followed instructions exactly; perfect !! Everyone loved them and all were gone in a few minutes. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Super bummed. Very soggy. We choked them down because we hate waste. So disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States