French Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jess77
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I used gold potatoes instead cause that's what I had... But followed everything else as it is.. And they came out really good. My kids liked them also.. That says a lot;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
My family loved them! The soaking in the sugar solution did wonders, but I borrowed Chef John's tip and fried them twice, first to soften, then a second time to make them crisp. Lovely, crispy, delicious. Definitely one for the ages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Dee..Lish...Us!!!!! I made a batch of these to try them out before making them for dinner. I cut mine into Cottage Fries though. I left a few out after the first fry to try the double fry. The first ones were soo good though. Can't wait to try the second ones and will definitely be making these for dinner tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Awesome! My nieces were missing their mother's fries (she passed away last year) and they said it was delicious! I agree! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
WOW. These fries are incredible. The 2 minute blanching is one of the keys to make them perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This recipe is perfect! The only thing that I changed is I cut my potatoes Julianne style. They turned out deliciously crispy, almost just like at McDonald's! My hubby loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley Mason

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I followed the directions and they're the best fries I've ever had. The whole family loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Amazing fries!!!! No need to go out and get fast food fries after you've tried this recipe. I tried it today. I went with the cold water 1/3 cup sugar instead of the warm and had the time to let them soak for 2 hours. I cooked them in two batches, the first was cooked twice around 2 1/2 min each time and the second was cooked 5 min straight up. The first batch came out extremely crisp, had that perfect light brown color and tasted fantastic, the 2nd batch came out a bit lighter but were just as good, I had no preferences between the two.. I WILL make these again and again and keep them as a staple in my household for years to come. Thank you for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Made this with sloppy joes... perfect combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Such great fries! Have to get the oil hot hot hot! Then they will crisp up nicely! I blanch mine in the boiling sugar water first, and will try the second fry next time. It might be great to fry a big batch, then freeze what we don't need for the night and have our own frozen fries for quick meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bastrop, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States