French Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
The mayo flavor was too strong that it made it bland. However, I added one more tablespoon of vinegar, and some lemon juice and it was perfect. I later added grated garlic and parmesan cheese, and it was tasty! I've been eating salad a lot more now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This is pretty bland, extremely thick, and tastes a bit too sweet for me. It does NOT work well to make this with fat free mayo, for sure. I'm giving it 3 stars as a possible foundation for a dressing recipe, but as is, the recipe just does not make a very good dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
*WONDERFUL* recipe...delicious and so easy, I was able to use up all the odd leftovers in my kitchen to make it. Definitely will save this recipe and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was great. I did add two tablespoons of ketchup and extra milk so that I could pour it on salad. It was a hit. My children were even using it as a dip for carrots and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
A superb match for my lunch salad of mixed greens, garlic pepper turkey breast, grape tomatoes, red bell pepper and feta cheese. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Great recipe. I made a smaller amount and eyeballed the proportions, but I was very happy with the result. Only changes I made were adding just a bit of ketchup, and using simple syrup instead of granulated sugar. Also used less milk than called for because the simple syrup thinned it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Great Dressing! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
wonderful i added lime juice to make it runnier and used hellman light i think it depends on your mayo if it is good one serving for me would be enough for 5 serings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
A nice change from garlicky italian type dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
This dressing is FANTASTIC!! This is exactly what I expect a French dressing to be; smooth, creamy and ORANGE, slightly sweet, slightly tangy, and just a tiny bit spicy. For years I have searched for a recipe for true French dressing that I could make fresh at home, and finding this one makes me so happy. I have made this recipe both with homemade mayo and with Hellmman’s and find them equally good (Hellmman’s also makes a good bottled French dressing; It is also a creamy orange dressing with no tomatoes or catsup, as are most of the other major brands of French).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Chef John’s Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

See an ingenious way to get every last bit of mayo from the jar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States