French Dip Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
OMYGOSH! I stuffed a tri-tip roast into the crockpot in the morning, went shopping, and came home to a wonderful aroma wafting through my house! Not only is this an easy dish, it has an outstanding flavor. The meat was done to perfection after eight hours and the au jus was to die for. I served on french rolls from this site.Since other reviewers had indicated it was a bit salty, I used half the Lite Sodium Soy Sauce and half the bouillon called for.I'm glad I did! It was wonderful! Thanks Gisele. This is a definite keeper in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I've tried recipes similar to this and all are very good..one is not necessarily better than another, each is good in its own way, with its own blend of flavors. This recipe differs from others with the herbs and soy sauce which give the meat and au jus a nice, beefy flavor just subtlely enhanced by the herbs. For those who question soy sauce as an ingredient, it is one of many secrets of great chefs, who occasionally use it in beef gravies, sauces, and reductions for flavor and color. I used fresh herbs rather than dried since I have a kitchen herb garden, and fresh, minced garlic for the garlic powder. Other than these minor modifications I made the recipe just as written, and it was perfect...not too salty at all, as others have thought. Perhaps they didn't use enough water? Great take on the classic French Dip, Giselle. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
Absolutely wonderful! I have made this many, many times and my guests always rave about it. I use sodium reduced soy sauce based upon previous reviews. I serve it using two 6-packs of hoagies and cut each sandwich in half to make 24 mini-sandwiches. On each mini-sandwich I layer the meat and then top with a slice of provalone. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This has to be the best French Dip recipe I have made. I've lost tracked how many times I've made it but it is always a hit. I use a 4-5 lbs chuck roast, rubbing it with garlic powder, seasoning salt, salt and pepper, then brown over the stove before adding to the slow cooker. I saute one onion sliced in the drippings from browning the roast and add it to the slow cooker to help flavor the au jus. After I pull the meat out, I turn the slow cooker on high to reduce the au jus. To serve, I use crusty rolls, pile on the meat, add cheese of choice and add some of the cooked onion and sauted onions. Easy but taste fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I enjoy using my slow cooker, and this is a recipe I was really looking forward to. In spite of the low rating, the flavour was actually not bad. But I found that there were three key issues I had with the original. My qualms were the following: 1. the type of roast wasn't specified. For my first attempt I used a very cheap cut, which was too fatty, and the sandwiches were cloying. I finally used a tri-tip, and it was fine. This would have been good to know. 2. the slow cooking process seemed to mute the garlic flavour, drowning it out. Again, after using fresh garlic, it really came to life. 3. When I used the bouillion, I found it too salty. On the second attempt, I used homemade beef broth instead (low sodium consomme would have worked as well) and I enjoyed it much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This is NOT your ordinary French Dip Sandwich! The mixture of soy sauce, rosemary and thyme gave it a unique and very different taste with a definite "kick". The meat just fell apart and stayed nice and moist in the crockpot. I used toasted hoagie rolls instead of the french bread and sliced each sandwich in half at an angle for easier dipping. Both my husband and I just LOVED these sandwiches, plus the leftovers were even better the second day! A definite keeper... Thanks Giselle! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I tried this last summer and my husband said it was the best roast I'd ever made. I tried the other recipe from this site (the one with beer & french onion soup) to compare them and then I made this one again last Saturday and this one definitely won, hands down! I made the french bread rolls from this site to make the sandwiches and it's a good thing I didn't invite anyone for dinner, because the two of us ate almost the whole thing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This was really good... we used regular soy sauce (1 cup instead of the 1/2 cup called for) and 3 cups of water, and it came out pretty salty, so next time we'll use reduced sodium soy sauce. The flavor was excellent, though! Also, we had a lot of au jus left over, and I hate to throw it out, so instead, I started searching for a reipe I could use it in. I found "Quickie French Onion Soup" (also on this site) and used the left over au jus to make a DELICIOUS soup. I counted my au jus as the beef broth and the au jus gravy packet called for in the recipe as I had 24 oz. of au jus left from this french dip recipe. My best friend and I loved it, and even my husband enjoyed it, and he doesn't even care much for french onion soup! It's a great way to use that au jus you have left over... give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLICAT2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This is a great recipe!! I used a 5 lb outside round roast and seasoned it with Montreal Steak spice and garlic powder and browned it in a skillet with some olive oil. I then put it in the crock pot and mixed the broth. I used a large container of Sodium reduced Cambells beef broth, minced garlic instead of garlic powder and the full amount of soy sauce. I used only half of the rosemary and time the recipe called for as I noted this was mentioned in other reviews. I skipped the bay leaf (personal prefference). I also added 1 package fo Lipton french onion soup mix. I cooked on high for 3 hours and then switched to low for 4 hours. I probably could have cooked on low for the 7 hours I had and the roast would have been done but I think that might be my crock pots personality! The meal tasted great!! I serveed it with home made hoagie buns still warm from the oven with sauted mushrooms and onions, and slices of sharp cheddar cheese, Mashed potatoes, and fresh raw veggies and dip. Everyone loved it and the Jus tasted wonderful on the mashed potatoes and the sandwiches. I will make this again sometime. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWSAHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I used a 2-pound beef chuck shoulder roast. Due to complaints of other reviewers about too much salt, I used lite-sodium soy sauce (next time I think I will cut the amount in half; not sure what I think of soy flavor in a French dip; don't know if that is normal or not!), a can of reduced-sodium beef broth (rather than the bouillion cube & water). Did everything else as called for on recipe. Served on toasted French hard rolls. Meat was very tender and good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States