French Dip Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I've used this recipe and other's similar and always had great results. Having used various cuts of beef, I've found that a chuck roast is my favorite. The key ingredients are soy and either beef bouillon or dry onion soup mix which can be combined with your other favorite spices. 8 hrs on low in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Good...but GREAT the next day! My meat didn't fall apart it stayed in a large hunk so I just sliced it and put it on a french baguette with Provolone and Horseradish sauce. The leftovers were much tastier and the meat softened up even more. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I used a roast half the size of the one in the recipe but used the same amount of liquid. After 10 hours, there was no liquid left at all -- just enough to wet the beef once I shredded it. What's up with that? How do you get any liquid out of 1/2 cup of soy sauce. Maybe the beef I used wasn't fatty enough to produce anything else. But it was so unbelievably salty, we could barely eat it. My kids love salt and both of them commented on how over-salted it was. There you have it. Just my opinion. I agree with ALLICAT2U -- definitely need to add a bunch of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Super easy!! Very flavorful au !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
made this yesterday and it was very good, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
It's 10PM EST and I just started to make dinner for tomorrow! I'm using a bottom round roast because it was on sale when I went out yesterday to buy the beef (also, if you add this recipe to your shopping list, it says bottom round). My roast is 2-1/2 lbs and at first, I was going to bump the recipe down to 6 servings, but when I needed 5/8 of a bullion, and 5/8 tsp of the seasoninga, I just kept it as is. I followed the recipe almost exactly - my only changes besides the size of the roast were I'm using minced garlic instead of powdered (it just has a much better flavor than powdered) and I spread some of the seasonings, minced garlic, and a bay leaf on top of the bit of the roast that isn't covered with the broth and two more leaves are floating around. I'll be serving this tomorrow night on regular Philly Amaroso hoagie rolls with provolone cheese. After my husband and I have dinner, I'll finish my review! It already smells delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Awesome recipe! I already have it written out and saved to my keeper recipe book :) Things I did differently were: I didn't bother with the bay leaf. I used fresh ground pepper (3 pinches). I used reduced sodium soy sauce and still found it to be slightly salty. For the cut of meat, I used an English roast ( one of my favorites for my slow cooker, as they always come out tender!) And instead of bread I used the Orlando brand hoagie buns. These buns toasted with the meat and some provolone cheese is just wonderful, very flavorful, the au jus was good but I think I may add something more to it for better flavoring next time. Definitely worth the time! And it makes your house smell good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Awesome recipe !!!!!! Added a sliced onion and some Pepperoncini peppers.....the Best ever....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kraig
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Made this recipe last night. The meat flavor with the soy sauce, thyme, rosemary, and bay leaf, was a refreshing change to most french dips that are made with just au jus mix or french onion soup. And yes tweaked it a little. I used a reduced sodium beef base called "Better than Bouillon" and a low sodium Soy Sauce. I also put the meat on fresh baked hoagie rolls instead of french bread. Since I like my French dips "loaded", I grilled some onions, peppers, mushrooms and topped the sandwich with the veggies, added a slice of provolone, and toasted the french dip in a oven to warm the bread and melt the cheese. All in all, the recipe made the meat and dip taste great. Thanks for sharing Giselle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kraig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: American Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Chubbuck, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Made this last night and OhMyGosh was it Good! I am a food dipper and this recipe will be added to my family's rotation of favorite foods! The only things I did differently was, I only used 1/4 of a cup of soy sauce and I Caramelized some onions to put on my sandwiches, made up my sandwiches with meat, onions, and shredded mozzarella cheese. Then threw them in the oven on 450 till the cheese was just melted. ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States