French Dip Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
So comforting, warm, and tasty... other than cooking in my slow-cooker, I followed the recipe and enjoyed a deliciously meaty sandwich. I didn't love the au jus, so I ended up putting some cheese on it and broiling for a few minutes. The bread was nice and toasty... yum. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Really good,Fixed in the pressure cooker, took about 1 hour,I used some stew meat that I had in the freezer. 2lbs of meat, 1can of beef broth,pkg. onion soup plus the rest of the ingredients minus rosemary. It was great with mayo and horseradish on the bun. plus the juice for dipping was rich and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I had the full "crew" home for Christmas and this was our day after Christmas lunch. Whenever you're cooking for others you always hope it will go over well, particularly if it's a recipe you've never tried before. These sandwiches were a hit with everyone. I digressed a little from the recipe, using thyme instead of oregano, mincing the garlic and cooking it for several hours in the slow cooker rather than the pressure cooker. I did use the chuck roast called for rather than any other cut and it was particularly tender and flavorful - but don't expect clean slices if that's what you're looking for. What I particularly enjoyed about this recipe was that the real beefy flavor wasn't interfered with or masked by an overload of seasonings. The amount of herbs was just enough to provide a subtle earthiness without compromising that great beef taste. I made these sandwiches on huge, crusty Italian rolls (from an old Italian bakery in Milwaukee that I've loved since I was a little girl!), toasted with mozzarella cheese and served with ramekins of the au jus on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This is one for my files! I followed the recipe exactly and served the shredded beef on french rolls. I strained the juices to remove the fat (I used an ingenius method of placing thick papertowels in a strainer and the pouring the juice in--may sound strange, but it worked!). The 3 lb. roast was not enough for my family of four to have leftovers, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was excellent, my family loved it. It made a cheap cut of meat like chuck taste like a much more expensive cut. The more I use this new pressure cooker the more I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Just started using a pressure cooker and found this recipe. It is very easy and much quicker than a crock pot.YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Very very good! Made in pressure cooker and followed directions exactly. We will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I've made this recipe 3 times already, and every time came out delicious!! My family couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof2kitties

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Many, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Great recipe. I only made some very minor alterations. 1.) I used a small crock pot, because I don't have a pressure cooker. I cooked it approx. 8 1/2 hours on low. Came out great, very tender. 2.) I used French hoagie rolls instead of regular French bread. I spotted them at the store at the last minute, and thought they'd be better. French hoagies are moister than average hoagie rolls. 3.) I used a roast just slightly over two pounds because I didn't want many leftovers. 4.) I added just one tablespoon of this dry au jus mix I've had in my cupboard for a while (impulse buy from a while back that I hadn't had the opportunity to use until now.) This was my first time making homemade french dips. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was so good! We served it with buttered french rolls and provlone cheese. I really liked this recipe because the sodium content wasn't sky high like some of the other french dip recipes. I added a bit of onion powder to the spices as well. I used bottom round roast and the meat was fall off apart tender after about 8 hours in the crock pot with a wonderful flavour. My husband took one bite and said Oh! now that's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States