French Dip Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This is one for my files! I followed the recipe exactly and served the shredded beef on french rolls. I strained the juices to remove the fat (I used an ingenius method of placing thick papertowels in a strainer and the pouring the juice in--may sound strange, but it worked!). The 3 lb. roast was not enough for my family of four to have leftovers, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was excellent, my family loved it. It made a cheap cut of meat like chuck taste like a much more expensive cut. The more I use this new pressure cooker the more I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Just started using a pressure cooker and found this recipe. It is very easy and much quicker than a crock pot.YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Smith Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I like the smell of this when it is cooking and it tastes good, but my roast did not get very tender. Even after 1 hr in the pressure cooker. I'll have to try it again with a different type of roast - not a rolled round roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I made this in the slow cooker by turning it on low for the day. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I don't have a pressure cooker, but this works just as well in a crockpot. I love recipes where there is minimal preparation in the morning and dinner is ready when you get home in the evening. This is a family favorite. We never have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Used a crockpot instead of the recipe recommended pressure cooker. Results = bland meat and dull (but extremely greasy) au jus. We had to let the jus refrigerate overnight to remove the hard white fat layer (and I had a nice chuck roast too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Very very good! Made in pressure cooker and followed directions exactly. We will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I've made this recipe 3 times already, and every time came out delicious!! My family couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof2kitties

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Many, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Great recipe. I only made some very minor alterations. 1.) I used a small crock pot, because I don't have a pressure cooker. I cooked it approx. 8 1/2 hours on low. Came out great, very tender. 2.) I used French hoagie rolls instead of regular French bread. I spotted them at the store at the last minute, and thought they'd be better. French hoagies are moister than average hoagie rolls. 3.) I used a roast just slightly over two pounds because I didn't want many leftovers. 4.) I added just one tablespoon of this dry au jus mix I've had in my cupboard for a while (impulse buy from a while back that I hadn't had the opportunity to use until now.) This was my first time making homemade french dips. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States