French Dip Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I don't have a pressure cooker, so I did this in my slow cooker. Added onions but otherwise did it as listed. This barely made it until dinner time! Everyone kept picking at it all day. I'd say that's the sign of a good recipe. Super tasty, tender...will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Really good,Fixed in the pressure cooker, took about 1 hour,I used some stew meat that I had in the freezer. 2lbs of meat, 1can of beef broth,pkg. onion soup plus the rest of the ingredients minus rosemary. It was great with mayo and horseradish on the bun. plus the juice for dipping was rich and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Zapp Winningham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was so good! We served it with buttered french rolls and provlone cheese. I really liked this recipe because the sodium content wasn't sky high like some of the other french dip recipes. I added a bit of onion powder to the spices as well. I used bottom round roast and the meat was fall off apart tender after about 8 hours in the crock pot with a wonderful flavour. My husband took one bite and said Oh! now that's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
So comforting, warm, and tasty... other than cooking in my slow-cooker, I followed the recipe and enjoyed a deliciously meaty sandwich. I didn't love the au jus, so I ended up putting some cheese on it and broiling for a few minutes. The bread was nice and toasty... yum. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I had the full "crew" home for Christmas and this was our day after Christmas lunch. Whenever you're cooking for others you always hope it will go over well, particularly if it's a recipe you've never tried before. These sandwiches were a hit with everyone. I digressed a little from the recipe, using thyme instead of oregano, mincing the garlic and cooking it for several hours in the slow cooker rather than the pressure cooker. I did use the chuck roast called for rather than any other cut and it was particularly tender and flavorful - but don't expect clean slices if that's what you're looking for. What I particularly enjoyed about this recipe was that the real beefy flavor wasn't interfered with or masked by an overload of seasonings. The amount of herbs was just enough to provide a subtle earthiness without compromising that great beef taste. I made these sandwiches on huge, crusty Italian rolls (from an old Italian bakery in Milwaukee that I've loved since I was a little girl!), toasted with mozzarella cheese and served with ramekins of the au jus on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Really yummy!! I left out the bay leaf (didn't have any) and added a package of beefy onion dry soup mix. It's absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I too used my slow cooker for this recipe and replaced one cup of the broth with beer. Toward the end of cooking I tasted and felt it needed more pizazz so added in some soy sauce, worcestershire sauce and a chopped onion plus my usual garlic and onion powders. Even my non red meat eating daughter loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Great recipe. I only made some very minor alterations. 1.) I used a small crock pot, because I don't have a pressure cooker. I cooked it approx. 8 1/2 hours on low. Came out great, very tender. 2.) I used French hoagie rolls instead of regular French bread. I spotted them at the store at the last minute, and thought they'd be better. French hoagies are moister than average hoagie rolls. 3.) I used a roast just slightly over two pounds because I didn't want many leftovers. 4.) I added just one tablespoon of this dry au jus mix I've had in my cupboard for a while (impulse buy from a while back that I hadn't had the opportunity to use until now.) This was my first time making homemade french dips. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I've made this recipe 3 times already, and every time came out delicious!! My family couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof2kitties

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Many, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States