French Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
My weekend go to breakfast these days. I like top it with lemon juice and powdered sugar. This is a nice recipe because if you are starting out and new to crepe making you can just change the servings to 4 that way you only use one egg. I say this because when I made my first batch the crepes sorta resembled jelly fish. Instead of nice and round they were sea creature shaped. And depending on what size pan you use it may take more than 2 tbsp of batter. Too little batter and you won't get it all the way around the pan. Not that it matters, they taste awesome no matter what shape. *A few times I used substitutions for the milk and sugar and they were just as yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I found this extremely difficult to make, and I'm not a beginner in cooking. Tasted good, but probably wouldn't make this again because of the difficulty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I loved this recipe. The first time I made it I added a cup of sugar (I have NO IDEA how I managed that. But they were REALLY sweet. LOL. So I had to try again) This is a fantastic recipe, so thin and light. I followed another reviewer's instruction and stored them in an unsealed tupperware container and it kept them warm nicely. I don't see why people are so concerned with crunchy edges. I like that. Gives them another dimension of texture. I served them with homemade blackberry jam and whipped cream. I can't wait to do a savory version with mushrooms and goat cheese :) Thanks for the fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Does it make a difference what kind of frying pan you use? I have a Scanpan (ceramic nonstick), and my crepes didn't really "brown" at all. They were pale and thick. They were delicious, but they didn't like like the picture. Any recommendations? I didn't have to use butter or oil since they just slid right off the pan. Would this make a difference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Wow, these crepes were awesome! They tasted just like the ones I had in Paris. They turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Simple and effective. VERY tasty-got kids to help. Great with Nutella spread-before rolling add a layer of Nutella. Use less oil at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I accidentally used self rising flour. Didn't matter. They turned out delicious! Great way to use up some older/sour milk too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
My first time making crepes...first few weren't so great but then they got better and better. Good recipe. Had to use a blender because I couldn't find my mixer. 2 tbsps was too little for my big frying pan so I had a little trouble finding the perfect amount for my pan but it seemed thinner was better. We rolled em up with cinamon and sugar inside and sprinkled with powdered sugar and sprinkles then dipped in syrup. My toddlers LOVED em and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
i like it sooo much, very easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
MELANIESAYSHI is right about this recipe; it turns out great if you follow her tips! I needed a quick breakfast to throw together this morning because my boyfriend was leaving for a week, and these went together quickly and turned out wonderful. I tried another popular crepe recipe from here a while back that turned out too thick, a lot like thin pancakes, but these were spot on. It seems obvious now that I remember how much butter went into these, but I did discover that I didn't need to use cooking spray in my nonstick pan (I thought it would help them turn out more like the picture, but it mostly made them greasy). Still, I got nothing but praise for these. This is your winning crepe recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States