French Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I just read the crepe batter recipe and I can't believe salt and sugar and water are added to the batter, totally unnecessary, I am french, grew up making these all my life, in France during my grandmothers time it was made using only eggs milk and unbleached flour, nothing else. Someone else suggested using a blender, that can be ruiness to the batter, over working the flour and eggs making it tuff. I don't know where some of these batter recipes come from but they are not authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I thought this was a great recipe. I had a little trouble with getting a nice shape so I decided to make them the size of my pan, worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
perfect for all purposes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Giza, Al-Jizah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This could be a good recipe, but as some reviewers have noted already, the proportions are wrong. It should be (1) cup of milk not (2). I made some sugar substitutes and it was perfect. I put 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup of whey, and a tablespoon of maple syrup and vanilla into the milk and egg liquids. You can thin this out with a little milk, but it doesn't need a whole 2 cups. We put in fresh compote and requeson; peanut butter n dark chocolate; swiss cheese, tomato n ham in another. If you don't want sweet crepes just put in 1/4 cup or less of sugar and they balance great with salty innards. Blessed kitchens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Delish and light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Very good, easy and no problems except that I put to much butter in pan, oopsy. I melted orange marmalade and added cointreau for topping yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Thank you .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bertha Gutierrez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Great recipe, too much butter. But they came out soft and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Not as light as I had hoped. Gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I made these crepes today and you can eat them hot or cold. I heat them for breakfast and put preserves on them or some times cinnamon & sugar. or for dessert put a pudding or mousse dress them up with fruit. This time I put a strawberry Instant Pudding in them with fresh strawberries. Will be making these again. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States