French Country Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
LOVE this bread! I only had all-purpose white flour and added some extra salt and a bit of honey. I've learned through trial and error that water-to-flour ratios can vary depending on many factors, so I always start with the minimum of flour and add more accordingly to achieve the perfect consistency. Made into a baguette and dinner rolls. Superb! *Update* I also used this dough to make Stromboli and it was SO good. Very versatile dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandhya.jain
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Super. The best bread I made. I did use 3tsp of salt. Let the bread raise..even if it takes a loong time. I kept misti g the bread with water for the first 6 mins. Excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I have tried this recipe and it is like my recipe for my German Bread i have made for years, there is nothing wrong with this recipe you can add anything you like and it turns out every time, and the taste is very good .MY NEIGHBOR LIKES IT TO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanbun USA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kassel, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
all I can say is OMG this bead is awesome I let the sponge set over night it really makes a difference I will make this bread over and over again I have made it in round loaf and also in reg loafs it is goo anyway you make it. It is a really easy recipe even a beginner can't mess this up give it a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
didnt have wheat flour so ended up using all purpose for this. i let the starter stay out for 18 hours. turned out great. will make again. i did brush some melted honey over the top before putting it in the oven to give it a sweet crunch on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Thank you Stephen for sharing this recipe. I free formed two loaves and baked on bread stone in oven. The best rustic, chewy crusty bread ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Love this recipe. I did add 3 T of honey. We love it for toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I made this but found that the batter(dough) was way too wet. I had to add several more cups of flour as it was VERY sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingwood, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was not just delicious, but very forgiving. I mixed it in the bread machine, realizing halfway through that I'd mismeasured some ingredients, so I stopped it, fixed the ingredients, then mixed. I put it in a bowl to rise. I made loaves, but my daughter child-handled a bunch of the dough and made tiny rolls and "bread worms". I then forgot to set the timer on the oven. It all turned out wonderful - my husband said it was "outstanding". It was much softer than I expected - I was expecting more of a crusty, holey French bread, but I'll make this again and again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I have made many, many breads from this site as well as others. This is really one of the best tasting breads you will make. The starter I think is what must helps take this from ordinary to a must have. I did not make any changes to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States