French Cookies (Belgi Galettes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
So fun to make! I brought them to my brothers house our family loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I prefer 1 pound light brown sugar and 1 1/2 cups white sugar to the 2 pounds dark....but I KNOW you SE Kansas folks that make this! I think I'm ur realative....off spring of Grandma Florence!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
made deez for ma momz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Delicious! These make my house smell like Ben & Jerry's when they make their waffle cones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Great flavor. I cooked them in my belgian waffle maker since that is all I had and while they taste great they are just too much cookie so I am going to get a smaller waffle type baker. I will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
My great Grandma always made these. She called them gaufrettes. You can adjust the sugar, using some white, some brown, or all brown. Add a little rum or brandy to the mix. YUM! This is a family favorite. You can buy a gaufrette iron from Palmer available on amazon. The dough keeps well in the fridge for quite awhile, waiting for company to pop in. Since the cookies only take a few seconds in the iron, they are fast to whip up. Try ice-cream between two cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I have been making French Cookies since I was a kid. After struggling w/ my great- aunt's recipe year after year, I decided to throw tradition to the wind and try this one. SO much easier, so tasty. I constantly have people raving about these cookies. I do not use the hot water bath, just mix it all together in my stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I used a pizzelle iron to make these and i think they turned out just fine. (I don't know how a galette iron is different though...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Excellent! Simplistic yet delicious. I added fresh orange zest and cardamom; the flavor was amazing. Everyone loved them. A definite keeper in my Christmas cookie file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwi63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Best galettes I've ever had. I used a pizelle iron cause I can not find a galette iron anywhere. They came off the iron soft and flimsy but hardened as they dried. Such good crispy cookies. mmmm My MIL and her family make these with an old cast iron galette press and they've always come out softer. I'm not sure if they are supposed to be a tiny bit soft? This batch came out very crisp. Maybe it was the pizelle iron that did that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States