French Coconut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
A good basic coconut pie recipe...the buttermilk gives it a rich flavor, I think. I made 6 of these in 1 week- 5 were for a church dinner. I used the "Bakers secret pie crust" on this same site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Wonderful custard flavor! This is one of the most delicious coconut pies I have ever tasted. Its so amazing to me that the coconut and pecans float to the top, while the custard part stays on the bottome. I was afraid it would all blend together! Thanks Shirley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
"WOW. Did I really make this myself?? Because it tastes like something from a 5-star restaurant"--that is what I thought every time I took a bite. SO EASY yet SO SO SO yummy and unique. I used home-made pie crust and half of the butter and can't imagine it any better. Did I mention this pie is amazing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Wow! This pie is going to be replacing my regular coconut pie recipe. It is so simple to put together - just takes a couple of minutes, and the flavor is outstanding. I wasn't sure about pecans in a coconut pie, but they go great together. I filled 2 regular pie crusts and had a little bit left over so I grabbed my small cast iron skillet and poured the remainder in it and threw it in the oven for about 15 minutes and it was great even without a crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This was awesome! Loved the taste-very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I used the 9-inch pie crust, it took about an hour and half to cook. I love the custard texture with the crunchy pecans. But it's to sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elenaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
I prepared this for our Thanksgiving dinner and I had to hide the last piece so that I could take home the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was very good. I did cut the sugar back to 2 cups, and will try cutting it to 1-3/4 cups next time, as it was still a little too sweet, and I'd like the tangy flavor of the buttermilk to be a subtle background note. (Remember, the coconut is also sweetened). I also added a teaspoon of vanilla. It was a nice, light dessert, and I will definitely make it again. I used Trader Joe's frozen pie crusts with this and they were the best pre-made pie crusts I've ever found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I just made this pie for my family at Christmas! It was really great. Everyone loved it and my dad even said he thought it was much better than my Grandmothers coconut pie recipe. That's saying alot. The only thing I will say is, I guess after reading too many coconut custard pie recipes, I remembered reading somewhere that the pie was done when you pulled a knife out clean from the center. Well, that little rule doesn't apply to this pie so mine was slightly overcooked. But everyone still loved it. I can't wait to try it again and actually remove the pie after an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States