French Coconut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Delicious! I didn't have enough granulated sugar, only 1/2 cup. I used brown sugar to substitute white sugar. I made my own buttermilk using milk and vinegar. I also didn't have pecans so I used walnuts. Delicious. I'd say a great sucess! I had to bake for about an hour and 25 minutes. The top was golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krozedesign

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Great pie. Everyone that tried this loved it. I will make it often. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbsteen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Freedom, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Wow! My new favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I'm not a huge fan of making pies and average 1 pie every 10 years. This pie was easy to make and had great flavor, texture and held together very well. I took one of the pies to work where it was a major hit. I will definitely be making this recipe again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kleer
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was my first attempt at a "custard" pie..and the first time tasting one too! I thought it turned out great. I used regular milk instead of buttermilk bc I didn't have any, and substituted walnuts for pecans bc that was what I had on hand. Definitely suggest covering the crust for half of the cook time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I make my own buttermilk with a scant cup of milk & fill to the line with red wine vinegar. I lined the pie edges with tin foil for the first 30 minutes and then took if off for the last 15. I used Marie Calendars deep dish pie crusts from the grocers freezer. This recipe fills both of them. A great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Terreton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Fantastic. Before mixing filling, line pie plate with crust...and after removing from oven, cool completely before cutting. My family LOVED this, though I must agree that it is rich. Small pieces are plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
VERY good. A little to sweet so i think i will cut back on the sugar next time. Everyone loved it. Followed the recipe exactly. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was a great coconut pie! I followed the recipe exactly, but added a splash of vanilla. I made one with pecans & one without. The were both fantastic and not too custardy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Yum! This is very different, and very good. It's like a custard pecan pie. My kids loved it! I did add chocolate chips as recommended by another reviewer. If you like choc. then add, if not, leave out. Will be good either way. I did have extra (made one 9 in. pie) and put it in a casserole. I think next time I'll just put it all in a casserole and skip the pie crust! Although I used the Easy Pie Crust recipe from this site and it really was simple. Could be served like a warm custard pudding. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States