French Coconut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was insanely delicious. It is divine. I can't wait to eat it again. I made a gluten free crust for it, and no one could tell. This is definitely worth making, it has good presentation, it's different but not weird. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzie
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I love this pie. I am not a fan of coconut but this definetly changed my mind about coconut pie. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I don't know what I did wrong but this did not taste good to me. Coconut and pecans are one of my favorite food combos - how can you go wrong? The flavor of this pie was not tasty or delicious, unfortunately. I was expecting something "more" but it seems to be missing something in the recipe? Maybe some vanilla?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Hmm I really love the topping; makes an awesome icecream topper. Not so much for the custard part though (not for us). For some reason i can taste a little egginess the next day. I don't get a chance to experiment with coconuts that much but im diggin' the coconut/pecans combo. Kinda inspired now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
this recipe is most definitely 5 stars or better. it is a kicked up cross between pecan pie and coconut custard. i used the butter pie crust recipe on this site and this entire recipe fit in my 10" ceramic deep dish pie pan and that is using extra pecans and extra coconut. the wonderful aroma in the kitchen and house for that matter is worth the reccipe alone. it is my second time making it today, and i am taking it to an office dessert contest tomorrow so i will see if i win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I used the 9-inch pie crust, it took about an hour and half to cook. I love the custard texture with the crunchy pecans. But it's to sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
"WOW. Did I really make this myself?? Because it tastes like something from a 5-star restaurant"--that is what I thought every time I took a bite. SO EASY yet SO SO SO yummy and unique. I used home-made pie crust and half of the butter and can't imagine it any better. Did I mention this pie is amazing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elenaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Nice pie. My husband loves coconut pie and buttermilk pie, so I thought this would be a winner. He said it reminded him of the pecan tarts he ate as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Simple to put together. If you like pecans and coconut, you will like this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States