French Coconut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Fabulous! I did slightly decrease the amount of sugar and added an extra egg, but this pie was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark & Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Freaking awesome. After reading the reviews- here's what I did: added a splash of vanilla and a handful of mini chocolate chips. I only did 2 cups of sugar. The amount of coconut is just right. I cooked it up in 8" pies- set up very nicely after the 45 min cook time. The chocolate chips really add a ton to this pie. My SIL said it reminded her of an Almond Joy bar. What I will do in the future- add even more chocolate chips. I will try a half cup more pecans, and maybe try toasting them ligtly before adding them to the mix. They get lost in the coconut and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is a yummy pie! I did add a little more coconut and a few drops of vanilla extract for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I have been making this pie for years with just a few changes and it is always a favorite and highly requested at family gatherings. I add 2 teaspoons vanilla, only use 2 cups sugar and up the coconut to 2 cups. I have made with and without pecans and it is great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was very good. I did cut the sugar back to 2 cups, and will try cutting it to 1-3/4 cups next time, as it was still a little too sweet, and I'd like the tangy flavor of the buttermilk to be a subtle background note. (Remember, the coconut is also sweetened). I also added a teaspoon of vanilla. It was a nice, light dessert, and I will definitely make it again. I used Trader Joe's frozen pie crusts with this and they were the best pre-made pie crusts I've ever found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was insanely delicious. It is divine. I can't wait to eat it again. I made a gluten free crust for it, and no one could tell. This is definitely worth making, it has good presentation, it's different but not weird. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzie
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I love this pie. I am not a fan of coconut but this definetly changed my mind about coconut pie. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I don't know what I did wrong but this did not taste good to me. Coconut and pecans are one of my favorite food combos - how can you go wrong? The flavor of this pie was not tasty or delicious, unfortunately. I was expecting something "more" but it seems to be missing something in the recipe? Maybe some vanilla?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Hmm I really love the topping; makes an awesome icecream topper. Not so much for the custard part though (not for us). For some reason i can taste a little egginess the next day. I don't get a chance to experiment with coconuts that much but im diggin' the coconut/pecans combo. Kinda inspired now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
this recipe is most definitely 5 stars or better. it is a kicked up cross between pecan pie and coconut custard. i used the butter pie crust recipe on this site and this entire recipe fit in my 10" ceramic deep dish pie pan and that is using extra pecans and extra coconut. the wonderful aroma in the kitchen and house for that matter is worth the reccipe alone. it is my second time making it today, and i am taking it to an office dessert contest tomorrow so i will see if i win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States