French Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I followed the recipe to a T. The cake was just mediocre. I bake alot and most things turn out very good. After baking this cake, it quickly sank a little. I used the correct technique in "folding" in the egg whites into the chocolate, so do not think that was an issue. The texture was like a fluffy brownie. I probably will not make this again. Thanks for posting though Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meiling206

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Incredibly Delicious! Cake was crisp on the outside and moist and fluffy on the inside. I accidentally forgot to add the 3Tbs of sugar to the egg whites but it worked out perfectly, and I tend to prefer not so sweet chocolate cakes. Will definatly be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Lovely cake - rich on chocolate (used chocolate with 56% cacao content), but not too sweet. The texture was slightly brownie-like...not sure why because I was careful with the amount of flour after reading the reviews. Served it with rasberrry sauce and whipped cream for my BF's bday. He loved it! Bonus part... the cake kept well for over a week (it's just the 2 of us). Will definitely make again. The Hague, Netherlands
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Very delicious! Took a little time to make, but worth it! I drizzled it with raspberry sauce, then topped it with homemade whipped cream.......yum! All four of my kids loved it, as well as my hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
very tasty, served at a refined party, and everyone loved it. very nice when drizzled with white chocolate and raspberry sauce, and each piece is garnished with a strawberry and a dash of whipped cream with an alomand wafer and a touch of cinammon on top. will definetely make this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I had to do a report on France for my Global Studies class and I decided to make this for everyone in the class. Everyone loved it! Also, I took it to my French teacher whom lived in France for 30 years and she said that indeed, it was French, and she wanted the recipe, as well as 4 other teachers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockwood, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
I was concerned about the cake having only 1/4c flour so I doubled it and it turned out to be about the consistency of a brownie. Everyone loved the flavor and it was very pretty with the powdered sugar sprinkled over the top. I will make again. It would be very good with a raspberry sauce or drizzled with a chocolate syrup. Update: I've made this cake several times without adding more flour and it is wonderful as written! I do sometimes substitute bittersweet for some of the semi-sweet to give it a richer chocolate taste. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I LOVE this torte. It is very rich and flavourful. I always serve this for desert when I have dinner parties - everyone asks for the recipe. I use the recipe for Raspberry Sauce, and top the torte with that, along with fresh whipped cream (no fake stuff for this desert!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slsonline

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
I followed the directions but this did not turn out at all-I ended up throwing it out. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
i tried this recipe twice. the first time didn't turn out right. it sank too much. (almost flat.) but the taste was great so i tried again. the second time turned out well. don't think it's that easy to prepare but love the rich chocolate flavor. need to practice some more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States