French Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
last christmas i made this cake as a supprise for my boyfriends father who grew up in france. he loves this cake and i am making it agian for his birthday in 8 days :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aura_bryt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Grayland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
A friend of mine has a french foreign exchange student staying at his house for a month. Her birthday is in a few weeks and I volunteered to make the cake. I made a practice cake to see if I could make it correctly and to see how it tasted. I thought it tasted great, as did my grandparents. my dad and sister didn't think so...but they're not known to be sweet lovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This cake is great! I have been making this recipe for years now, and everybody loves it. I also was concerned about the lack of flour, but this cake turns out perfect with the ingredients listed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
beaautifully fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I made this for my friend who is French, from France. She LOVED IT! She said that she was going to pay me the ultimate compliment and then she said that it was better than her mother's french chocolate cake. It really did taste fabulous. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHISPAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
It's my go-to recipe for a rich, dense and impressive cake for get-togethers. People always ask for the recipe! If you don't have cream of tartar on hand, a pinch of salt will do just fine. I serve the cake with a dusting of powdered sugar and strawberry or raspberry sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Abolutely delicious. I added 2 tablespoons of creme de cacao which gave it just a little kick. Stored it over night and didn't crumble at all when I cut it. Everyone love it. Served with vanilla ice cream and strawberry puree. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Good texture. The cake did fall after it had cooled down, but this type of cake does that. It created a very 'creamy' texture in the centre that was really enjoyed by my family. If you were serving it just as a cake, it could be a bit sweeter, perhaps, but we served it with ice cream, strawberries, and a chocolate ganache which provided the necessary 'sweetness'(I think)and contrasted nicely with the strong chocolate flavor of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I think this cake is great! Working as a pastry baker, I have made cakes like this before. The cake usually sinks in a little at the top after cooling. I like to fill the indention with whipped cream, freeze it overnight and then glaze with a melted ganache icing. Sooo elegant but still pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by your mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tukwila, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Seconds after taking it out of the oven it began to fall. About 10 minutes later it had dropped about 1/2 way down the pan BUT it tasted great anyway! I made this for a dinner party & everyone loved it, I served it with mint chocolate chip ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States