French Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Amazing!!! Rich, dark, dense and delicious! Must serve with Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site along with fresh raspberries. You won't regret the extra time it takes to prepare this sinfulness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
We liked this cake. I made it for Christmas Day dinner. Instead of a 9-inch springform pan, I used two 7" springform pans and baked them for about 40 minutes, or until they were puffy and tested clean. The great thing about this cake is that once it cools down, it pulls aways from the pan by itself. So taking the ring off is easy. If I know I might be giving one away, I trace the bottom pan over a cardboard circle, cover it in aluminum foil and press that down into the springform pan. That way if I want to leave it behind, I don't have to worry about having the pan bottom returned to me. I used TJ dark chocolate in the big Belgium bar. I also covered it with the Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site, and served it with fresh raspberries on the side. Not too sweet, not too dense either, just a pleasant mouthful of chocolate goodness. I'm going to see if I can make it sugar free next time! Lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Oh my gosh this was heaven. Don't change a thing and trust that it's worth it because it is! Topped with ganache it is a 5 star dessert worthy of whatever event or occassion you're making it for - even if you're only making it because its Wednesday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I have to admit, I was a little skeptical, especially after it came out of the oven and it looked so dry on the outside. I was afraid that it was just going to be a dry, crispy mess. Boy was I wrong!!!! This was absolutely delicious!!! It had the richness of a chocolate cake without the sickly sweetness that you get from traditional cakes. I served it with raspberry sauce and homemade whipped cream and everyone thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miguel
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
great tasting cake!!!! love the rich flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
super nice cake! make sure to add 280 grams of choclate, not 28 grams as indicated in the recipe (1 oz). however, less chocolate makes it less rich ;-) in france this cake is called a 'moelleux au chocolat', very popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyhippy1000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aschaffenburg, Bayern, Germany
Photo by Joshua Alan Burgin I
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was seriously one of the best desserts I have ever made! It was pretty simple to make and totally delighted my dinner guests. I cut the recipe in half and used my 5-inch Springform pan. I also substituted the butter for margarine and worked very well! I believe I will be making this again for another dinner party this weekend :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Alan Burgin I

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
followed recipe with the exception of cutting back on the chocolate (used 4 oz baking chocolate and 12 T cocoa) .... remarkably good with strawberry sauce and whipped cream ~ perfect ending to our Valentines' Day dinner ~ mine did not fall ~ rather a cross between cake, brownie and cheesecake. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Tastes awesome - mine collapsed, but that's my fault, not the cake's. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This is an AMAZING chocolate torte - it's dense, moist and oh-so chocolatey. I cut down the number of eggs to 3 and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States