French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
amazing... almost like Mom's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Burrows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Yummy, tyvm for sharing! This is my third time making the recipe and this time I used an extra 1/2 lb of pork because we like deep dish style pies so just upped all the ingredients about 25%. I (reluctantly) added about 3/4 tsp of cinnamon as some reviewers suggested and have to admit, it added to the already abundant flavor of the filling. My only suggestion would be to add a tbsp or two (as needed) of unseasoned breadcrumbs for binding but don't add too much - the last time I overdid it and the filling came out a tad dry but still tasted great! Personally, I like a filling that holds together. I made the crust using butter flavor Crisco - perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
A recipe that requires no modification. Made as is and it was amazing. I have also made this recipe more traditionally using only pork, both ways are equally delicious to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
So I made this last night for the wife and kids. It turned out pretty good. I grew up eating my mum's british meat pie (beef, carrots, onions, gravy....) so this was my first taste of Tourtiere. I really liked the flavour of the meat but I agree with some of the reviews that it was a little on the salty side. If I make it again, I'll cut down on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nerdy Guy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Very similar to my Gram's (long-lost) recipe. Added one egg and a little cinnamon and it was perfect. Thank you for this! Also - authentic French Canadian tourtiere is like authentic Italian pizza...not everyone grew up with or likes the exact same recipe. That doesn't necessarily make one less authentic than another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
My husband loved this recipe. I used 500 grams of a pork/beef mixture and a package of chopped soup vegetables. (I live in Germany right now and they sell packages of fresh soup vegetables in the supermarket. This includes a few carrots, some Leeks, a wedge of celery (is this only sold in Germany? Never seen it in America) and maybe some broccoli) instead of adding cinnamon, I used creole seasoning and the flavors worked together beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Ihad a lot of liquid after baking too much tasted great but I'll put in an egg next time .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I use beef pork and chicken summer savory s/p &onion my moms recipe she was 85 she did this for 50 years yummmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Added 2/3 c instant potato flakes. Also 1/4c chopped fresh parsley. This is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I upped the spices as well, and I added cinnamon. The only problem I had was that the crust I chose to make was very rich, so the finished product ended up ultra-rich! I couldn't even eat a full serving. Next time I'll try a more modest crust....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States