French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is the one I grew up eating. Terrific recipe- I like to stir constantly while I cook the meat to achieve more a more finely textured filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was pretty close to my Memere's recipe....however, she never put so many different herbs in hers. Equal amounts of beef and pork, diced onion, Bell's Poultry Seasoning, salt & pepper and 4-5 slices of fresh white bread, shredded finely.....helps to bind the meat and absorb some liquid. Then the mixture was stuffed into the turkey, where the turkey juices would flavor it all the more. We weren't offerend seconds, so there'd be enough leftover for the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
this was very good, but very rich, so i would lessen the pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Exactly as I remember from home (Quebec) except my memere added a med. size potatoe which helps bind all the ingredients. Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Hi, I am French Canadian and my mom always put 1/3 pork, 1/3 veal and 1/3 beef.... this has to much salt and shouldn't have to put water... my mom put a mash potatoe to reduce the liquid and to bind everything together...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bellepoupee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
We were looking for something to have for our French Canadian heritage, so I found this and tweaked it a bit: I used 1/4 sage pork sausage and 1 lb ground beef, used no water just chicken broth(I used Progresso in the box and used about half the box), omitted the sage, added a TB of A-1 sauce to the mix. As it was almost done on the stove top with the access water, I added about 2 cups of mashed potato flakes to absorb the access liquid and mixed it until it had a consistency of pate', then baked it in a Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust and it came out amazing! My best friends' mother who is Polish, very picky about her food and eats nothing but Polish food "polished" this off! She wants me to make her an entire pie just for her.....which I think I shall soon! It is an unusual tasting meal....and very good! Very different, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonks78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Wow! I was very worried that this would not taste good. I needed a Canadian recipe for an Olympic theme pot luck. I loved it! Even kids like it, which surprised me. I highly recommend this recipe. I used 2 lbs of ground pork and 1/2 lb of beef, just because I love the pork better. It does fall apart when you serve it, but it still tastes incredible! I love the flavor! The Pilsbury pie crust was a great combination. I did brush the top of the pie crust with milk to brown it nicely. Please choose this recipe I did not add anything to it, although you can come up with you own creation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
SO GOOD!! I've never eaten anything like this, but I thought I'd give it a try. I am so glad I did! I made this for the in-laws right before Christmas, and they were impressed. This pie went a long way in my house, as it's very filling. It does taste great the second day as well. Thanks for sharing this gem of a recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nidda

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheSlyBear
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Very good. This isn't exactly as I remember my French-Canadian grandmothers making, but it's pretty close. Changes I made: I used 2 lbs of ground pork (no beef), omitted the water (the onions and pork rendered plenty of juice), and brushed an egg wash onto the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheSlyBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is excellent. I add 1 small russet potato, sliced thin, and a handful of minced parsely. I fill my crust with half the meat mixture, top with a layer of potato, then the remaining meat. Serve with ketchup or tomato chutney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States