French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Samantha_MacDonald
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was a big hit a few nights ago. I chopped up some very fine pieces of celery and carrots to the meat mixture, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha_MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I made this and it was a HUGE hit with my husband and 3 teen-age kids. My 16-year old said: It's like potato chips, you can't stop eating it. I would follow the suggestions next time to add potato. Loved it. Make 2 and freeze one for another time. (I tried to do this, but the second one never made it to the freezer!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Phenomenal. I followed the recipe almost exactly. It was easy and delicious. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PEGT2865
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Excellent! Per suggestions I added 1 teaspoon cinnamon and decided to use beef broth instead of water. I thought my filling was a little watery so I drained meat, reserving the liquid. Set meat aside and in pan I used 1T butter melted and 1T flour to make a rue. Added back liquid and cookded until thickened. Mixed back into meat and then follwed recipe. My daughter took to school for a heritage project where she told about her French Canadian heritage and their Christmas traditions. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is the one I grew up eating. Terrific recipe- I like to stir constantly while I cook the meat to achieve more a more finely textured filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was pretty close to my Memere's recipe....however, she never put so many different herbs in hers. Equal amounts of beef and pork, diced onion, Bell's Poultry Seasoning, salt & pepper and 4-5 slices of fresh white bread, shredded finely.....helps to bind the meat and absorb some liquid. Then the mixture was stuffed into the turkey, where the turkey juices would flavor it all the more. We weren't offerend seconds, so there'd be enough leftover for the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
this was very good, but very rich, so i would lessen the pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Exactly as I remember from home (Quebec) except my memere added a med. size potatoe which helps bind all the ingredients. Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Hi, I am French Canadian and my mom always put 1/3 pork, 1/3 veal and 1/3 beef.... this has to much salt and shouldn't have to put water... my mom put a mash potatoe to reduce the liquid and to bind everything together...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bellepoupee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
We were looking for something to have for our French Canadian heritage, so I found this and tweaked it a bit: I used 1/4 sage pork sausage and 1 lb ground beef, used no water just chicken broth(I used Progresso in the box and used about half the box), omitted the sage, added a TB of A-1 sauce to the mix. As it was almost done on the stove top with the access water, I added about 2 cups of mashed potato flakes to absorb the access liquid and mixed it until it had a consistency of pate', then baked it in a Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust and it came out amazing! My best friends' mother who is Polish, very picky about her food and eats nothing but Polish food "polished" this off! She wants me to make her an entire pie just for her.....which I think I shall soon! It is an unusual tasting meal....and very good! Very different, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonks78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States