French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
i am french canadian and was just looking up fun recipes to go with my heritage and was skeptical at first but with that first bite... yum! i'm gonna share this recipe with friends for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Great! Made it for Xmas eve dinner this year. I had to work 'till dinnertime, so I made the filling a day ahead, then just put it into the crust and the oven when I got home...mo muss, no fuss! I used 1lb pork and 1lb beef, and used veg stock instead of water....easily made enough filling for 2 9" pies, so I froze half of it for a later meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
My father, having some French Canadian in him, always used to make tourtiere on Christmas Eve when I was a child. This pie tastes almost like his...only thing that was missing was the mushroom gravy. P.s. Based on others comments I only used 1 tsp of salt in the pie and it turned out wonderful. No extra salt was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yellojellobelly
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Definitely a keeper! I found the recipe by searching for traditional Christmas Eve dishes and thought it looked good so we made it tonight (Christmas eve.) I cut a Christmas tree with a star out of the left over pie crust and put it on top, it was beautiful! Even the 2 year old ate two pieces, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is a great recipe. My French Canadian aunt made this at Christmas all the time and I make it now. In the crust she always added thyme also. Mmm delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I halved the salt and doubled the spices (personal preference). I replaced 1/2 lb. of the ground pork for 1/2 lb. of ground veal, which is often done here in Quebec. I made a good pastry with a blend of shortening and butter and I also put some thyme in the pastry as well. I've made it twice and the second time I put in a cup of frozen peas - not traditional, but it worked. I only like homemade tourtieres and now I have a recipe which is really appreciated. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I was raised in a French canadian home--that was a tradition over the holidays--the only thing different that we always had in the Tourtiere was 2 large cooked potatoes, chopped--probably that would prevent it from being watery! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I doubled the spices & had 1 pound each of the pork/beef. I didn't have ground cloves so I substituted it with All Spice. I forgot to cover the pie with aluminum foil so I baked it at 400F. The crust came out fine but I found the mixture watery. Next time I won't add the water, or use the correct meat ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was an excellent recipe, but i did cut back on the salt and added more of each other spices...Mmmm delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
It was good, but not great. I would make it again, but this time add something to thicken the liquid and make it into a sauce. Also I would add potatoes, carrots, and maybe some cheese. I realize it would no longer be a traditional Tourtierre, however it would turn it into a 1 dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fearevilchickens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States