French Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
This frosting is fantastic! It was perfect for my rich chocolate cake. I found I it tasted best when it was slightly chilled. I have had lots of requests for the recipe since serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
THIS WAS WONDERFUL! I ALWAYS ORDER STORE CAKES FOR PARTIES, BUT NOT EVER AGAIN. THIS IS MUCH BETTER. I ALMOST RAN OUT BEFORE I FINISHED ICING THE CAKE, BECAUSE EVERYONE WANTED TO EAT IT. IT'S JUST RIGHT NOT TO SWEET.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
I was hoping this would be the icing bakers use, it wasn't, but it was very close. It is very light in texture, and the taste is very good. Although I was initially disappointed, I am now glad I found it. Excellent for borders,and detail, but not for flowers. Thanks Kristen for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
This icing was very light and not too sweet. I made my sons a dinosaur cake by piping method and also spreading all over the cake. It is important to follow the directions precisely and have the butter room tempature. My guests just raved about this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
I used this recipe to frost a sheet cake for a Bridal shower. It got such rave reviews that someone asked my sister if i would consider making a wedding cake. Thank-you Kristen for submitting this recipe. It was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
This Frosting was very light and delicious, it was easy to write with. I would recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
Super recipe--not too sweet and easy to handle. All the guests loved it and I will be using it again. Thanks!! Mom71
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
I have never received so many compliments on a cake! Everyone was just amazed at how light it was. Not too sweet! Absolutely perfect!! I used it as the base icing and borders on my daughters first birthday cake. Even with the regular decorating buttercream (which is quite heavy) on top of it you could still taste the cake!! I was a bit worried because it was an VERY humid day and I was afraid with the cream it would seperate or melt, but it didn't at all!! Winning recipe that I will use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valarie Amormino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roosevelt, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
This recipe was not sweet at all. It frosted beautifully and looked great though. It just was not sweet enough for me or for my family. (Even though I more than doubled the powdered sugar it called for.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly McNamara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
This recipe has unreached potential. Spreading consistency was nice. However, the flour was noticeable in my first sample taste of the frosting. Also, I didn't use the butter extract because I don't like artificial ingredients. However, the large amount of real butter was overwhelmed by the shortening. I'm going to try the recipe again but with only 3 tablespoons flour and with butter in place of some of the shortening. Also, I doubled the amount of vanilla. I would also add at least 1/2 cup more powdered sugar. The recipe is a great starting place, just needs a little refinement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States