French Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I made this recipe twice over the course of two days. The flavor is excellent; I think the butter extract really helps. it was the perfect sweetness for me, kids and other adults. Unlike other frostings, the texture was very smooth and light. It was NOT gritty from confectioner's sugar like some recipes are. The first batch came out perfect. The 2nd batch, however, had lumps of flour even though the cream/flour mixture was smooth going into the microwave and coming out. I used it anyway, and by the time I served it at room temperature the lumps had disappeared completely. I would love to understand the chemistry behind the flour but I'm just happy it was smooth and creamy by the time the kids tucked in! I love cake and frosting and this is the best buttercream frosting recipe I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was very close to what I was looking for. My friend is a professional baker and award winning designer. She has a "top secret" French Butter Cream frosting she uses and I have been trying to find something close. I think this is as close as I am going to get! I used regular butter (I did not have unsalted on hand) and butter flavored Crisco. There was enough to frost a 2 layer 8" round. It was smooth and creamy. It was not stiff enough to decorate with, unless whatever was not in the bag was put in the fridge. It was way too soft for flowers. I combined it with a regular shortening based buttercream for decorating. (I chose a basketweave on the sides and roses on top.) Thanks so much for a great recipe! P.S. It is wonderful on carrot cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Good but has an aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
This is an excellant frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Sorry Kristen, we didn't like this at all. We actually ended up throwing it away and making a batch from a different recipe. Not sweet enough, not enough flavor, flour mixture was funky, too heavy on the butter & shortening. Don't waste your time and ingredients on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIPPERBABE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
I never liked icing until I made this for my son's cake. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This was a really great frosting recipe. I decorated my son's birthday cake with it and the colors came out well and it was a nice, not-to-sweet, fluffy frosting. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that, like some others, I didn't like the shortening taste. I added more sugar to try to mask it, but it didn't help that much. Maybe I will try the butter-flavored shortening next time like some suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I just finished making this recipe to frost a "barbie cake" for my daughter's bday party (the doll's skirt is the cake). I love this frosting because it's light and airy. I didn't alter the recipe at all, except to double it. My only advice is to make sure your butter is at or near room temperature so you don't get lumps. Also helpful to use a heavy stand mixer, as the extended mixi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
My search is over....I have found the ultimate frosting. I used the butter flavored shortening instead of regular shortening and did not have the shortening taste some mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
My boyfriend and I went to a bridal show and sampled a cake with frosting similar to this, by far the best bakery at the show. This is the only frosting I make now, thank goodness I have a stand mixer! It freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States