French Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This is my new frosting recipe...people always ask for it after they taste it. It is easier to make if you have a stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I used this frosting to decorate and frost a wedding cake. It was absolutely wonderful. Everyone raved about the cake. I liked the fact that it is not real sweet. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This is a pretty good tasting frosting. It is not too difficult to make. It is a very light fluffy, almost whip cream, type of frosting. It is not the best that I've ever had, but it is better than the premade Betty Crocker icings and the Wilton recipe icings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I cut this recipe in half and it turned out great. I decreased the mixing time by half. I used salted butter because I didn't have any unsalted and it didn't affect the flavor. Very, very good, I was licking it out of the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Very nice results with this recipe, and the birthday crowd all agreed! However I used the unsalted butter as stated, and had to add some salt because it was too bland. Maybe that's the way the French like it, but not me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Wonderful Recipe. Used the suggestion for butter shortening and the buttercream was a hit. Used this recipe to fill, ice, and decorate sister's wedding cake. I had several professional bakers at the wedding compliment me on the buttercream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I used this to decorate a cake I made for my son's birthday. It was the perfect compliment. I used the butter flavored shortening like suggested and the taste was great. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This frosting is wonderful!! It has more of a texture of whipped cream. I used it in place of whipped cream in the recipe for Black Forest Cake. The fact that it is not so sweet is a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
It is creamy , with just a hint of sweet. I used salted butter. Instead of regular flour, used Wondra. Also used butter flavored crisco and in addition to vanilla, added a touch of rum flavoring. This frosting tasted like it was from a french bakery! Not sure why, but did not take nearly 10+ whipping time...was light and fluffy within 3-4 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This is one of the BEST frosting recipes ever and I have already tried it with lemon extract for a lemon cake recipe. I use this recipe regularly and it is a must for the dessert section in your cookbook!!!!!! I like the fact that it also makes cookies easier to store in your freezer since it hardens well (but thaws equally nice) ~ not all sticky like some frostings which can result in a less-than-appealing looking cookie when you take them out. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States