French Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This is a pretty good tasting frosting. It is not too difficult to make. It is a very light fluffy, almost whip cream, type of frosting. It is not the best that I've ever had, but it is better than the premade Betty Crocker icings and the Wilton recipe icings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I cut this recipe in half and it turned out great. I decreased the mixing time by half. I used salted butter because I didn't have any unsalted and it didn't affect the flavor. Very, very good, I was licking it out of the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Very nice results with this recipe, and the birthday crowd all agreed! However I used the unsalted butter as stated, and had to add some salt because it was too bland. Maybe that's the way the French like it, but not me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Wonderful Recipe. Used the suggestion for butter shortening and the buttercream was a hit. Used this recipe to fill, ice, and decorate sister's wedding cake. I had several professional bakers at the wedding compliment me on the buttercream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I used this to decorate a cake I made for my son's birthday. It was the perfect compliment. I used the butter flavored shortening like suggested and the taste was great. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This frosting is wonderful!! It has more of a texture of whipped cream. I used it in place of whipped cream in the recipe for Black Forest Cake. The fact that it is not so sweet is a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
It is creamy , with just a hint of sweet. I used salted butter. Instead of regular flour, used Wondra. Also used butter flavored crisco and in addition to vanilla, added a touch of rum flavoring. This frosting tasted like it was from a french bakery! Not sure why, but did not take nearly 10+ whipping time...was light and fluffy within 3-4 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This is one of the BEST frosting recipes ever and I have already tried it with lemon extract for a lemon cake recipe. I use this recipe regularly and it is a must for the dessert section in your cookbook!!!!!! I like the fact that it also makes cookies easier to store in your freezer since it hardens well (but thaws equally nice) ~ not all sticky like some frostings which can result in a less-than-appealing looking cookie when you take them out. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I used this for a cake I made on Valentines. Perfect texture. Flavor was pretty good, just a touch of sweetness...perhaps I'd try adding a bit more sugar next time and use a bit less flour in the flour/cream mixture. This might offset the flour-y taste I detected. But over-all, a recipe I will use again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNEND

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I made this recipe twice over the course of two days. The flavor is excellent; I think the butter extract really helps. it was the perfect sweetness for me, kids and other adults. Unlike other frostings, the texture was very smooth and light. It was NOT gritty from confectioner's sugar like some recipes are. The first batch came out perfect. The 2nd batch, however, had lumps of flour even though the cream/flour mixture was smooth going into the microwave and coming out. I used it anyway, and by the time I served it at room temperature the lumps had disappeared completely. I would love to understand the chemistry behind the flour but I'm just happy it was smooth and creamy by the time the kids tucked in! I love cake and frosting and this is the best buttercream frosting recipe I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States