French Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
My husband's family doesn't like traditional sweet buttercream frosting, but I didn't want to deal with whipped cream for a variety of reasons, so I was looking for a buttercream recipe that tastes more like whipped cream. I made this recipe with the whisk attachment on my Kitchenaid, and it came out much creamier and smoother than regular buttercream.. great consistency. However, I would NOT say it isn't as sweet. I did use a little extra powdered sugar since some reviewers said to add more, and I think it was overkill. Icing the cake was very easy, especially for perfectionists like me who are never satisfied with the way it looks. It didn't crust over and I could re-smooth it over and over. I frosted the cake 2 days before my son's birthday party and put it in the fridge, took it out for a couple of hours the day before to decorate it (with regular buttercream), and then took it out of the fridge about 30 minutes before serving. The frosting tasted the same as it did the day I made it. I will definitely use this recipe again, with a little less sugar and maybe a touch more vanilla. I changed the servings to 18 to make sure I had enough to frost a 2-layer 9x13 cake, and I had about 1 cup left over. Great recipe - thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This is an amazing icing. It does the trick everytime, for every birthday cake and it tastes wonderful. The only advice I'd have is to put the milk/flour in the microwave in increments of 10 or 15 seconds and mix in between or else you end up with a chunk of flour goo. Otherwise, it's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I LOVE IT!!! Beats out any of those super sweet blah buttercreams. I've always liked european buttercream better than american as it's not insanely sweet. I wasn't sure how the flour would help but it really does all go together. Thanks Kristen for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azzilann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Exactly what I was looking for. Easy, easy, although it took some time to blend thouroughly. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Great frosting! Smooth, not too sweet, easy to maneuver. This is my go to frosting from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I'm throwing out my other recipes ... this buttercream is the only one to make! Super easy to make with a stand mixer and tastes like heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
very buttery, not too sweet; i like it. it is too melty for what i need but a good recipe non-the-less. i used it to frost cupcakes made with the krazy kake recipe on this site. nice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanius80

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CYNDY
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I love how smooth this frosting is and it's not too sweet. Used this on a sour cream white almond cake with raspberry filling. Happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This is my new frosting recipe...people always ask for it after they taste it. It is easier to make if you have a stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I used this frosting to decorate and frost a wedding cake. It was absolutely wonderful. Everyone raved about the cake. I liked the fact that it is not real sweet. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States