French Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Fluffy and light. Much better flavor and texture than decorator's icing. I did not find it greasy or too buttery at all. And it piped nice borders and lettering. If you pipe roses, be sure to refrigerate because it is a soft icing that will lose its shape in warm weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This frosting is so light and fluffy, you might think it was made by angels! Based on suggestions from other reviewers, I used butten instead of shortening and reduced the flour to 2 Tablespoons. The result was heavenly! I wouldn't hesitate to make this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by violet
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was good, very close to a recipe I lost. Doubled for a 2 layer cake and also added extra powder sugar, and no butter extract. This is a very rich frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
One of the best frostings I've ever had! Wonderful light texture & taste - not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Good at first,but I felt the flavor was not as good the longer it sat.Quick and easy.Good if you need something fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I heat up the cream and then mix in the flour because the micro cooks it too much, but otherwise an great icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Very easy to make, very easy to work with. It made enough icing to frost and fill a 2 layer 9" round cake and do some decorative accents on the top and sides. Took food color very well, too. I'm extremely pleased with how easy this frosting was to work with. It did stiffen up nicely when cooled. The flavor was good, for buttercream. The kiddos loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This frosting is amazing. I accidentally spilled the vanilla into it...What did more vanilla ever hurt?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonrisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Best frosting recipe hands down! Especially if you're not a big fan of the kind of frosting on supermarket cakes. To those of you who said it tasted like shortening, have you checked your expiration date. You shouldn't taste it unless it's rancid. When you open the can it should have no smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bucket of cookies
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Oh so good and I even add some coca and it was even better,I couldn't stop eating. if I could I would give it 20 stars.. Thanks so much Terry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States