French Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This was delicious!! Light and not too sweet!! Will use again!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTA920

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Just the recipe I was looking for. I used it on a Mocha Swiss Roll so I added a little coffee to it. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I'm not a fan of buttercream at all... still not a fan but this is a really good recipe. Results are just like what you'd get from a bakery. Be very careful with your microwave, or you'd end up with cooked doughy stuff instead of a milk and flour paste. (I use milk instead of cream... it works fine.) Instead of shortening, I use margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This would be a great recipe for frosting soup. Not sure what went wrong, followed the recipe exactly. Maybe the microwave was for too long? I mixed for at least 20 minutes (constantly watching) until it started separating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This recipe was ok. A not so sweet buttercream. If I made it again I wouldn't use shortening and use a lot more powdered sugar than called for. It does get a too greasy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sapna
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I absolutely love this recipe. Not too sweet; very fluffy and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sapna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I have been using this recipe for several years, and its the only one I use. I'm not a fan of really sweet frostings, so this is perfect. Like others, I use the butter flavored shortening. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I loved this recipe! It wasn't too sweet and it was light and fluffy. For a twist, I folded in some melted white chocolate and it was a hit! It won't work well for decorating and may not get really smooth, but it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This frosting was good. But where do you read where it says to add flour? Am I reading that incorrectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This icing has a beautiful texture and sheen and a pretty good taste - just remember to return your pastry bag to the fridge frequently while decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States