French Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I have used this recipe dozens of times and LOVE it! Everyone I serve this to is impressed by the texture and taste. I like a more whipped cream flavor so I always make the following changes: #1 - Omit the butter flavor extract and increase the vanilla to 2 tsp. #2 - I also add 1/8 more whipped cream to recipe to boost cream whipped cream flavor. Some popular variations I've done: Add seedless strawberry jam for an awesome cake filling or reduce shortening to 1/4 cup and add 1/4 cup cream cheese (MUST be room temp) to give more stability for many layers. To better transport the finished product I'll refrigerate or freeze prior to moving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by betty
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I made this frosting for my son's Sponge Bob cake and it turned out great. I used butter flavored Crisco for the shortening. I hate baking with anything but real butter; however, for cake decorating, this one worked for me because it has a mix of both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This reminded me of a recipe I used years ago but the flour and liquid were cooked on the stove to make a paste and if not caught in time would have a burnt taste. Because of all the review "stars" I decided to give it a try. It was very easy and had a great texture to it but I detected a slight floury taste. I plan on making it again but as some of the reviews suggested, I am going to add less flour and use more butter/margarine. Has anyone tried 1/2 the amount of cornstarch in place of the flour and what were the results?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Fluffy and smooth consistency. Be sure to fully cool the flour and milk mixture before adding to the butter and sugar mixture. Put in the freezer or refrigerator for a few minutes to speed the cooling time. This isn't an overly sweet frosting, which is why I like it. The frosting balances nicely with the cake and any fillings (I used lemon) that you may use which are plenty sweet. I would suggest increasing the vanilla flavoring, I used about 3 teaspoons. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is my new go-to frosting recipe! Some other reviewers complained about the consistency, heaviness of butter, and lack of sweetness. Well, to each their own, I guess, because it is for those reasons I thought this was a great recipe! I felt it was plenty sweet (without being too sweet like a store-bought buttercream) the buttery flavor was delicious, and this recipe decorates incredibly well. If you like a lighter (not on calories, of course), fluffier frosting, this is for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I did not care for this AT ALL. Most of my guests said the frosting had a greasy flavor or like eating butter. Appearance-wise this frosting looked fine, but we were very disappointed by the flavor. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I used the butter flavored shortening as suggested by another review. The frosting was really good and I personally like this type of consistency, I did not find it lacking in sweetness like others. I did find it a little too rich, I agree that the shortening could be cut down, it gave me a stomach ache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Excellent recipe. I used this recipe on The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies on this site and received raved reviews. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
My birthday boy (3) usually eats the icing and nothing else but even he did not like this icing! It did not taste good at all and I felt so bad for him because I was trying so hard to make him a nice birthday cake. It wasn't nearly sweet enough and it was incredibly bland. It was very fluffy which made for a slightly insubstantial texture, detracting further from the total lack of sweetness and flavor. I didn't have a need to pipe it so I can't say for sure, but I would think this would be a very difficult consistency to decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I thought this was a great icing recipe. I cut the batch in 1/2 and then split it for coloring. Had a good flavor - and nice texture. I like the texture of buttercreams made with shortening, but hate the flavor, so this was a nice mix for me. This will be a standard icing for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States