French Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I tried making this frosting. After reading all the reviews I thought it would be a terrific recipe. I was wrong. I could not taste anything but the shortening which was revolting. I ended up throwing it in the trash can. If anyone decides to make this recipe.. I recommend finding an alternate solution or add less of the shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Very good recipe. Easily frosted 2 dozen cupcakes with tons left over. I didn't use the butter flavoring and it still turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made this buttercream recipe today and it was outstanding. I have been taking a cake decoration class and absolutely hate the taste of the buttercream that I have had to use. My kids don't even like it. So when I came across this one I had to try it. It was easy to work with and very smooth. It frosted easily and made a nice border and filling for my cake. I did follow the recipe exact and probably the key to success is beating it for as long as they suggest. Not even close to being a runny frosting. I will use this recipe from now on and use a different firmer one for the flowers. I put the entire cake in the fridge and when it was chilled the frosting was firm on the cake. Great whipped cream taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I was very excited about this recipe after reading the reviews. The frosting came together beautifully and spread perfectly. However it was very greasy for my taste and not nearly sweet enough. Back to the drawing board to find the perfect buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mikeysmom570
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This recipe is GREAT!..I followed it exactly and everyone loved it. I used it for the bottom half of my son's Elmo cake. I stored in the fridge overnight and took it out an hour before I served it. Big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikeysmom570

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly as written but something went wrong somewhere. While the icing tasted great, the texture was a greasy mess. It was impossible to work with. Kept adding powdered sugar to get it to thicken up but to no avail. And when I tried to add food coloring (the gel kind sold in cake decorating stores) the color did not take. I ended up adding cream cheese to it and using it as fruit dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I am getting into the cake business and have taken classes on decorating. I recently had a request for this french buttercream icing and (as the young folks say), OMG! This is fantastic! It's light, flavorful, easy to work with on wedding cakes, and coupled with a butter recipe that I'd handwritten, and can't remember where I'd gotten it from, it is the very best recipe for frosting I've ever tasted. The texture and flavor surpass all others. That is why my first stop when looking for recipes is with this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This is a very light fluffy frosting. Also turned out very runny, where I had to add lots of icing sugar to make it a bit more stiff. Good for basic filling and covering cake, but not good for decorations :(. Didn't add butter extract, and was buttery enough as is. If the flour/cream mixture comes out doughy, just add milk or cream a bit at a time mixing well until creamy frosting consistency. Not a bad frosting, tasted great, just not so good on consistency. To avoid floury taste, make sure you "cook" the cream/flour mixture in the microwave. In other words, make sure it's in the microwave long enough to simmer a little. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, the buttcream recipes I have tried before are good but not this good! I didn't have any whipping cream so i used evaporated milk instead and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERESAGIRL29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I have used this recipe dozens of times and LOVE it! Everyone I serve this to is impressed by the texture and taste. I like a more whipped cream flavor so I always make the following changes: #1 - Omit the butter flavor extract and increase the vanilla to 2 tsp. #2 - I also add 1/8 more whipped cream to recipe to boost cream whipped cream flavor. Some popular variations I've done: Add seedless strawberry jam for an awesome cake filling or reduce shortening to 1/4 cup and add 1/4 cup cream cheese (MUST be room temp) to give more stability for many layers. To better transport the finished product I'll refrigerate or freeze prior to moving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States